Tips on zooming into loop start/end points.

Hi-

I’m new to Audacity and am trying to get deeper into editing audio and creating loops of what i’ve recorded. I’ve watched a bunch of crap YouTube tutorials that completely gloss over the maddening parts of this process and am hoping that someone can help.

Let’s say that i’ve recorded some audio and i simply want to select a portion of that audio and create a loop out of it. So, i make a first rough selection, which is likely to NOT be perfect the first time (most YT videos completely ignore this simple reality), and i need to likely zoom in more and find the loop points at 0 both on the beginning and the end of my initial rough-cut selection. I know that if i issue cmd-F, the selected entire loop fills the screen. However the actual loop point that i ultimately want might be outside of that. So, i start with the beginning of my loop-to-be. I also know that Cmd-1 will zoom in on the beginning of my selection, which is great. However, i am QUITE likely to have to zoom in further on the loop beginning to really find that 0-point. So, i try pressing the Zoom button to get closer. (VERY MADDENINGLY), the display DOES zoom in, but the audio it is looking at has now switched to the middle of my selection, i am no longer looking at the beginning chunk of the audio of what i am trying to select. The same behavior is true of the end of a selection. Once i’ve made a rough cut selection and try and zoom into the end, pressing the zoom key again reverts back to the middle of my selection. Pretty NOT user-friendly in my opinion… Can the default behavior be customized somehow to simply zoom in closer on what i AM looking at currently?