Lost Recording

I am new to Audacity (2.1.3). I recorded a radio program of about 5 hours using iMic USB input. The recording was apparently successful, showing a waveform for the 5 hours. To verify the success I was able to select various locations in the waveform and play back short sections. To preclude accidentally losing the recording while editing out some sections I saved the recording as a project on the desktop. The save progress was shown via a progress window (took 3 to 5 minutes, I think). I closed Audacity, and came back later to edit. There was no waveform displayed. I checked the data folder and it has NO ITEMS. I found the temporary file directory “audacity-lock-rod”, which was a 5 byte document containing the number 2950.

I assume the recording is gone, and unretrievable???

Rod

It would be better to export as WAV and use that as a backup if disaster strikes. Make exporting the raw recording as WAV part of your workflow.

Are you looking at the _data folder for the saved project, that has the same name as the AUP file?

If the project save completed, the data would have been completely moved to the _data folder for the project.

Was an error shown when you opened the saved AUP file, if so what did it say exactly? Please attach the AUP file and also the log from Help > Show Log… top right of Audacity after you try to open the AUP file. Please see how to attach files to forum posts.

Gale

Are you looking at the _data folder for the saved project, that has the same name as the AUP file?

Yes, both the _data and the .Aup files have the same name

Was an error shown when you opened the saved AUP file, if so what did it say exactly? Please attach the AUP file and also the log from Help > Show Log… top right of Audacity after you try to open the AUP file

No error message, log is attached (I hope)

Lyon
log.txt (2.66 KB)

Please attach the AUP file as requested.