Error message from Crossfade Tracks effect

Help for Audacity 2.x.x on Mac OS X.

ImageThis forum is for Audacity 2.x.x on Mac OS X 10.4 and later.
Please state which version of OS X you are using, the exact three-section version of Audacity from Audacity > About Audacity and whether you obtained the .dmg installer or the zip.

Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade at https://www.audacityteam.org/download/.
The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.

Error message from Crossfade Tracks effect

Permanent link to this post Posted by rgnewsman » Thu May 11, 2017 9:31 pm

HELP PLEASE WITH CROSSFADE EFFECT.
I'm somewhat new to audacity but absolutely love it.
I'm having some problems though cross fading tracks.
I've laid out some screen shots to help explain my problem.
I'm working on a Mac Mini with Sierra Operating system.
And Audacity 2.1.3
I highlight the tracks to crossfade
Select the crossfade function from effects.
Select the fade type, click ok an get this Nyquist dialogue box that I don't understand.
And when I click ok nothing happens to the tracks. The crossfade effect has no effect on the selected tracks.
I'm sure it's operator error.
Can any tell what I'm doing wrong.
I've checked online tutorials but see nothing.
Many Thanks
Screen Shot 2017-05-11 at 4.21.48 PM.png
Selected effect
Screen Shot 2017-05-11 at 4.21.48 PM.png (56.72 KiB) Viewed 300 times

Screen Shot 2017-05-11 at 4.22.08 PM.png
Nyquist ??? I don't know what this is.
Screen Shot 2017-05-11 at 4.22.08 PM.png (37.78 KiB) Viewed 300 times

Screen Shot 2017-05-11 at 4.21.24 PM.png
Selected track
Screen Shot 2017-05-11 at 4.21.24 PM.png (151.72 KiB) Viewed 300 times
Last edited by Gale Andrews on Thu May 11, 2017 11:41 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: placed images inline so that they fit Forum layout
rgnewsman
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 4:05 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Re: Error message from Crossfade Tracks effect

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Thu May 11, 2017 9:57 pm

Try clicking the "Debug" button rather than the "OK" button. I expect it will show an error message. Copy and paste the error message (all of it, as text) into your reply.

Also, when you have a new question, please start a new topic and give it a relevant title.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Site Admin
 
Posts: 44458
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Error message from Crossfade Tracks effect

Permanent link to this post Posted by rgnewsman » Thu May 11, 2017 10:09 pm

Thanks for the help Steve.
It was lengthy error message.
Here it is in three parts.
Thanks so much.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2017-05-11 at 5.03.58 PM.png
Screen Shot 2017-05-11 at 5.03.58 PM.png (40.74 KiB) Viewed 302 times
Screen Shot 2017-05-11 at 5.04.13 PM.png
Screen Shot 2017-05-11 at 5.04.13 PM.png (33.42 KiB) Viewed 302 times
Screen Shot 2017-05-11 at 5.04.37 PM.png
Screen Shot 2017-05-11 at 5.04.37 PM.png (42.28 KiB) Viewed 302 times
Last edited by steve on Thu May 11, 2017 10:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Post moved to correct topic and retitled
rgnewsman
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 4:05 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Re: Error message from Crossfade Tracks effect

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Thu May 11, 2017 10:25 pm

Have you been trying to modify the plug-in?

Also, please post error messages at text rather than as a screenshot.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Site Admin
 
Posts: 44458
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Error message from Crossfade Tracks effect

Permanent link to this post Posted by rgnewsman » Thu May 11, 2017 10:27 pm

No, I wouldn't know how to modify the plug in.
I've literally just gone through the steps I outlined in the first post.
rgnewsman
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 4:05 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Re: Error message from Crossfade Tracks effect

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Thu May 11, 2017 10:37 pm

Well it looks like someone or something has modified the plug-in file, because the word "COLORADO" does not exist in the "Crossfade Tracks" plug-in that we distribute.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Site Admin
 
Posts: 44458
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Error message from Crossfade Tracks effect

Permanent link to this post Posted by rgnewsman » Thu May 11, 2017 10:51 pm

I searched for Colorado music in safari. I edited music, perhaps even titled Colorado in Audacity, but I'm not quite sure how that would have any effect on the plug-in.
Like I said, I have no clue how to modify the plug in.
I'm not even sure how I could have done that by accident.
To be honest, I'm not sure where the plug in is located, how to access it, or even what it does.
That said, can you explain where the plug-in is located and how I get it back to the factory default settings so I can use the crossfade feature?
Thanks so much for your help.
rgnewsman
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 4:05 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Re: Error message from Crossfade Tracks effect

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Thu May 11, 2017 11:18 pm

For a default installation, the plug-in will be in:
~/Library/Application Support/audacity/Plug-Ins

The plug-in is just one file, called "crossfadetracks.ny"

Please attach that file to your reply so that I can take a look at it. Hopefully that will cast some light on what is going wrong.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Site Admin
 
Posts: 44458
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Error message from Crossfade Tracks effect

Permanent link to this post Posted by rgnewsman » Thu May 11, 2017 11:43 pm

Thanks for the help Steve.
Audacity is intuitive and user friendly which is what I love about it.
I'm not technologically savy enough to "tinker" or modify it.
Besides I use it because I like the features the way they are.
But you may be onto something as to why this isn't working.
I don't see anything listed as Audacity plug ins.
Here is the Library path.
I got there by going:
Library/Application support/audacity
The Plug-ins folder is missing.
The only folder there says, "libs"
Hopefully, that helps in solving the mystery.
Again, thank you very much.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2017-05-11 at 6.32.16 PM.png
Screen Shot 2017-05-11 at 6.32.16 PM.png (141.09 KiB) Viewed 293 times
rgnewsman
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 4:05 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Re: Error message from Crossfade Tracks effect

Permanent link to this post Posted by Gale Andrews » Thu May 11, 2017 11:58 pm

rgnewsman wrote:I don't see anything listed as Audacity plug ins.
Here is the Library path.I got there by going:
Library/Application support/audacity

Wrong Library. Steve said to go to
Code: Select all
~/Library/Application Support/audacity/Plug-Ins

See the tilde (~). That means your user Library in your HOME folder. Use the Go > Go to Folder menu item in Finder to get there.

However I expect the plugin is more likely inside Audacity. Right-click or Ctrl-click over the Audacity application, and click "Show Package Contents". Open the "Contents" folder then look in the "Plug-ins" folder.


Gale
________________________________________FOR INSTANT HELP: (Click on Link below)
* * * * * Tips * * * * * Tutorials * * * * * Quick Start Guide * * * * * Audacity Manual
Gale Andrews
Quality Assurance
 
Posts: 26093
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 12:02 am
Operating System: Windows 10

Next

Return to Mac OS X



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 9 guests