Recording with Reloop iPhono 2 on audacity

Help for Audacity 2.x.x on Mac OS X.

ImageThis forum is for Audacity 2.x.x on Mac OS X 10.4 and later.
Please state which version of OS X you are using, the exact three-section version of Audacity from Audacity > About Audacity and whether you obtained the .dmg installer or the zip.

Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade at http://www.audacityteam.org/download/.
The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.

Recording with Reloop iPhono 2 on audacity

Permanent link to this post Posted by durban93 » Mon May 08, 2017 4:02 pm

Hi there,

I'm using a macbook air OSX El Capitan on Audacity 2.1.3 which I believe was a .dmg installer and have recently bought myself a Reloop iPhono 2 to record my mixes considering a macbook air doesn't have a line-in.

I'm hoping you can support me with the problems I have been facing with recording in Audacity.

My current setup is:

- 2 numark CDJs going into a Numark DXM01 Digital Mixer
- RCA from mixer (record channel) to input iPhono RCA
- Normal USB wire that comes with iPhono connected to Macbook Air

I press record and it pauses straight after. Find attached image and you will see bottom right where it says recording paused. This happens straight after I hit record.

I have attached most images with my settings in audacity. Hopefully you might be able to see I have the wrong settings somewhere. If not, please can you advise me on next steps?

I've installed the iPhono software, which comes along with an audacity installation however is one of the older versions (1.1) which didn't work so have downloaded version 2.1.3

Weirdly, it records once in a blue moon but won't allow me to playback and comes up with 'latency issue'. I was hoping this iPhono interface would eliminate all these problems I had previously...

Your help will be much appreciated.

Many thanks,

Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 13.37.23.png
Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 13.37.23.png (161.74 KiB) Viewed 82 times

Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 13.37.11.png
Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 13.37.11.png (187.18 KiB) Viewed 82 times

Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 13.44.51.png
Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 13.44.51.png (248.4 KiB) Viewed 82 times

Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 13.45.05.png
Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 13.45.05.png (277.04 KiB) Viewed 82 times
Last edited by Gale Andrews on Tue May 09, 2017 1:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: placed images inline so that they fit Forum layout
durban93
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 3:45 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Re: Recording with Reloop iPhono 2 on audacity

Permanent link to this post Posted by billw58 » Mon May 08, 2017 4:39 pm

durban93 wrote:I press record and it pauses straight after. Find attached image and you will see bottom right where it says recording paused. This happens straight after I hit record.


Please click on the Transport menu and make sure that "Sound Activated Recording" is not checked.
-- Bill
billw58
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 3421
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:10 am
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Re: Recording with Reloop iPhono 2 on audacity

Permanent link to this post Posted by durban93 » Mon May 08, 2017 6:50 pm

Thanks for the quick reply.

Is this the correct setting? Find attached.

Emil

Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 19.49.11.png
Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 19.49.11.png (144.65 KiB) Viewed 74 times
Last edited by steve on Mon May 08, 2017 8:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: place image in-line
durban93
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 3:45 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Re: Recording with Reloop iPhono 2 on audacity

Permanent link to this post Posted by billw58 » Mon May 08, 2017 9:17 pm

You've chosen the Sound Activation Level. You want Sound Activated Recording turned off.

Please see this page in the manual.

-- Bill
billw58
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 3421
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:10 am
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)


Return to Mac OS X



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Nimmy and 4 guests