Converting audio to text

I’d appreciate your help in the following case:
I want to convert an .mp4 file to text.
Setup:

Audacity: the file is drag+dropped therein. It plays.
Mac IOS setup:

• advanced dictation function is on, microphone is set to Soundflower (2ch), and
  • txt is open,
  • input mic = internal, output mic = Soundflower.

When I start recording (by pushing fn button twice) right after that I started playing the .mpg4 file – there is no text writing at all.

At Audacy there is a moving green bar in the output mic lane but there is nothing in the input lane on the top of it.

What should be set in a different way to have the writing done?

Thanks.

Audacity does not run on iOS. Please give us the necessary Audacity and OS X information from the pink panel at the top of the page.

Mac Dictation is designed to work by talking into a microphone but you can try following http://www.leveluplunch.com/blog/2013/12/30/convert-recorded-audio-text-using-osx-dictation-audacity-soundflower/ if you are not already doing so. I have never done this but it seems you have to start playing the audio in Audacity before pressing Fn twice in the text editor.

There are some reports this process does not work out of the box on Mavericks and Yosemite because Dictation mutes all audio except an active microphone. If so, try the workaround on http://apple.stackexchange.com/questions/92613/use-mac-os-x-dictation-on-a-file.

Gale

Thanks Gale.

Audacity 2.1.1., OS X 10.10.4
Indeed, I’ve already tried leveluplunch link. I’ve done every step accordingly (I hope :slight_smile: ), incl. e.g. starting playing the audio in Audacity before pressing Fn twice in the text editor.

Now, I’m going for the second link.

W.

Gale,

I’ve tried the second link but no result. Any more ideas or hints?

thnx

None, if you are following the instructions in both links correctly. What you are doing is not a supported use of OS X Dictation. Have you asked on the Apple forums about it?