Focusrite Saphire 14. Can't select correct input

Help for Audacity 2.x.x on Mac OS X.

ImageThis forum is for Audacity 2.x.x on Mac OS X 10.4 and later.
Please state which version of macOS you are using,
and the exact three-section version of Audacity from "Audacity menu > About Audacity".


Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade at https://www.audacityteam.org/download/.
The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.

Re: Focusrite Saphire 14. Can't select correct input

Permanent link to this post Posted by Pobinr » Tue Apr 04, 2017 7:17 pm

Hi
Device info


Code: Select all
==============================
Default recording device number: 3
Default playback device number: 3
==============================
Device ID: 0
Device name: Built-in Microphone
Host name: Core Audio
Recording channels: 2
Playback channels: 0
Low Recording Latency: 0.001995
Low Playback Latency: 0.010000
High Recording Latency: 0.012154
High Playback Latency: 0.100000
Supported Rates:
==============================
Device ID: 1
Device name: Built-in Output
Host name: Core Audio
Recording channels: 0
Playback channels: 2
Low Recording Latency: 0.010000
Low Playback Latency: 0.010136
High Recording Latency: 0.100000
High Playback Latency: 0.020295
Supported Rates:
    8000
    9600
    11025
    12000
    15000
    16000
    22050
    24000
    32000
    44100
    48000
    88200
    96000
    176400
    192000
    352800
    384000
==============================
Device ID: 2
Device name: LogMeIn Remote Sound
Host name: Core Audio
Recording channels: 2
Playback channels: 2
Low Recording Latency: 0.010000
Low Playback Latency: 0.001542
High Recording Latency: 0.100000
High Playback Latency: 0.011701
Supported Rates:
    8000
    9600
    11025
    12000
    15000
    16000
    22050
    24000
    32000
    44100
    48000
    88200
    96000
    176400
    192000
    352800
    384000
==============================
Device ID: 3
Device name: Saffire
Host name: Core Audio
Recording channels: 8
Playback channels: 12
Low Recording Latency: 0.010000
Low Playback Latency: 0.003197
High Recording Latency: 0.100000
High Playback Latency: 0.013356
Supported Rates:
    8000
    9600
    11025
    12000
    15000
    16000
    22050
    24000
    32000
    44100
    48000
    88200
    96000
    176400
    192000
    352800
    384000
==============================
Device ID: 4
Device name: Soundflower (2ch)
Host name: Core Audio
Recording channels: 2
Playback channels: 2
Low Recording Latency: 0.010000
Low Playback Latency: 0.001451
High Recording Latency: 0.100000
High Playback Latency: 0.011610
Supported Rates:
    8000
    9600
    11025
    12000
    15000
    16000
    22050
    24000
    32000
    44100
    48000
    88200
    96000
    176400
    192000
    352800
    384000
==============================
Device ID: 5
Device name: Soundflower (64ch)
Host name: Core Audio
Recording channels: 64
Playback channels: 64
Low Recording Latency: 0.010000
Low Playback Latency: 0.001451
High Recording Latency: 0.100000
High Playback Latency: 0.011610
Supported Rates:
    8000
    9600
    11025
    12000
    15000
    16000
    22050
    24000
    32000
    44100
    48000
    88200
    96000
    176400
    192000
    352800
    384000
==============================
Selected recording device: 3 - Saffire
Selected playback device: 3 - Saffire
Supported Rates:
    8000
    9600
    11025
    12000
    15000
    16000
    22050
    24000
    32000
    44100
    48000
    88200
    96000
    176400
    192000
    352800
    384000
==============================
Available mixers:
==============================
Available recording sources:
==============================
Available playback volumes:
0 - PCM
==============================
Recording volume is emulated
Playback volume is emulated
Last edited by waxcylinder on Wed Apr 05, 2017 10:58 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: code tags added for readability
Pobinr
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 9:57 pm
Operating System: Please select

Re: Focusrite Saphire 14. Can't select correct input

Permanent link to this post Posted by Pobinr » Tue Apr 04, 2017 7:20 pm

steve wrote:Mapping audio I/O is on the "to do" list, but I believe it is a major, and difficult job.

Have you looked in the AudioMIDI Setup application?
"Finder > Go > Utilities > AudioMIDI Setup"

What devices are listed and how are they listed?


Sorry but where do I find 'Go' in finder ?
Pobinr
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 9:57 pm
Operating System: Please select

Re: Focusrite Saphire 14. Can't select correct input

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Tue Apr 04, 2017 8:17 pm

Pobinr wrote:Sorry but where do I find 'Go' in finder ?

Menu bar at the top of the screen (the "Application menu").
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Site Admin
 
Posts: 45951
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Focusrite Saphire 14. Can't select correct input

Permanent link to this post Posted by Pobinr » Tue Apr 04, 2017 8:34 pm

Which drop down menu is that in
Audacity, file, edit, view, transport, tracks etc, which one ?
Pobinr
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 9:57 pm
Operating System: Please select

Re: Focusrite Saphire 14. Can't select correct input

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Tue Apr 04, 2017 8:54 pm

"Go" is in the Finder Application menu at the top of the screen. See: https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201956
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Site Admin
 
Posts: 45951
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Focusrite Saphire 14. Can't select correct input

Permanent link to this post Posted by Pobinr » Wed Apr 05, 2017 9:42 am

Thank you for this assistance
See screenshot
Attachments
Screen Shot 2017-04-05 at 10.40.50.png
Screen Shot 2017-04-05 at 10.40.50.png (87.54 KiB) Viewed 570 times
Pobinr
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 9:57 pm
Operating System: Please select

Re: Focusrite Saphire 14. Can't select correct input

Permanent link to this post Posted by Gale Andrews » Wed Apr 05, 2017 11:37 am

Pobinr wrote:See screenshot

To make an aggregate device, see https://support.apple.com/en-gb/HT202000. I don't know if you can add subchannels of a device to the aggregate, or take subchannels out after you added the device, but try it. It still gives you another device to try.

Gale
________________________________________FOR INSTANT HELP: (Click on Link below)
* * * * * Tips * * * * * Tutorials * * * * * Quick Start Guide * * * * * Audacity Manual
Gale Andrews
Quality Assurance
 
Posts: 26089
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 12:02 am
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Focusrite Saphire 14. Can't select correct input

Permanent link to this post Posted by Gale Andrews » Wed Apr 05, 2017 11:57 am

Pobinr wrote:Device info

Yes the Saphire is just one device, so you can't choose subdevices from it.


Gale
________________________________________FOR INSTANT HELP: (Click on Link below)
* * * * * Tips * * * * * Tutorials * * * * * Quick Start Guide * * * * * Audacity Manual
Gale Andrews
Quality Assurance
 
Posts: 26089
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 12:02 am
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Focusrite Saphire 14. Can't select correct input

Permanent link to this post Posted by Gale Andrews » Wed Apr 05, 2017 12:03 pm

Also did you try Soundflower?

Download https://github.com/mattingalls/Soundflower/releases/download/2.0b2/Soundflower-2.0b2.dmg for macOS 10.9 and later or https://storage.googleapis.com/google-code-archive-downloads/v2/code.google.com/soundflower/Soundflower-1.6.6b.dmg for macOS 10.6 to 10.8.

What version of macOS exactly do you have?


Gale
________________________________________FOR INSTANT HELP: (Click on Link below)
* * * * * Tips * * * * * Tutorials * * * * * Quick Start Guide * * * * * Audacity Manual
Gale Andrews
Quality Assurance
 
Posts: 26089
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 12:02 am
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Focusrite Saphire 14. Can't select correct input

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Wed Apr 05, 2017 12:12 pm

SPDIF is on channels 5&6, so I think that's the end of it. To record channels 5&6 with Audacity you will need to record channels 1 to 6. To record only channels 5&6 you will need to use a different recording application (such as GarageBand or Logic).
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Site Admin
 
Posts: 45951
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

PreviousNext

Return to Mac OS X



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests