Trying to copy MiniDisc to mp3

Complete noob.

This should be easy. I have a number of MD’s which I used in my university classes which I need to convert to mp3. So I had Audacity all set and I recorded 19 of 24. On Sunday I did a recording from an audio on the computer to an mp3 file and it worked just fine. However, since then I have been unable to switch back to whatever I did before. All i do is generate feedback or record some things with a microphone instead of a line in like I did with the previous recordings.

Simple CD/MD player with headphone output plug into a Buffalo USB to audio converter plug into the computer. As I say, it worked fine for a while. Tutorials don’t seem to help and I really need t convert these last few discs before I try other projects. I have spent more than 12 hours trying to work this all out. I know it shouldn’t be hard but it is, although I admit that windows 10 can make anything simple into a complicated mess. Previously I used 2.1.1 but I just downloaded the 2.2.2 today.

In the device toolbar, ensure that you have selected the “line in” device (not “Sound Mapper” and not your microphone). The “host” should probably be set to “MME”.

Thanks Steve. I am always on MME for this and I’ve selected RealTek audio but it’s still recording from the mike and not from the line.

Go to “Help menu > Diagnostics > Audio Device Info”, and when the info appears, save it somewhere convenient. Then attach the saved file to your reply (see here for how to attach files to a forum post: https://forum.audacityteam.org/t/how-to-attach-files-to-forum-posts/24026/1)

Okay, here’s the file. Yes some of that is actually in Japanese although English is the main language.
audacity.txt (6.54 KB)

Can you read Japanese?

Audacity is set to use ステレオ ミキサ (Stereo Mix) for recording, which is a “virtual device” for recording whatever is playing through the (“Realtek High Definition”) sound card.