Audacity doesnt recognise my mic

Hi guys, I’m very new to this, I play guitar and sing so thought I would get something recorded just for myself.

I got some gear given to me a while back, a Tascam interface which works great with my guitar and through Audacity 2.2.2., I also have a MXL condenser mic, its a usb.006 so plugs in separately but I cant get it working, it lights up but its not showing up in Audacity.

In the devices boxes I have…first box, MME Windows direct sound and windows wasapi second box, Microsoft sound mapper stereo mix IDT high definition and my Tascam (no sign of my mic)

There are no drivers for the mic, its a plug n play type thing.

I’m running Windows 8.1 and have no other problems

Any ideas ? is there another way to test the mic ?

Did you plug-in the mic before starting Audacity?

Right-click the Windows Speaker/Volume icon and select Recording Devices. If the mic shows-up and is enabled, Aduacity should also see it.

…I had an issue once with two different plug-and-play USB audio devices. Apparently, Windows couldn’t tell which device was plugged-in and one of them didn’t work. I don’t remember exactly how I got it working but I had to go through the Windows Control Panel “remove” the device and maybe re-load the driver… or something like that.

just been trying again and the mic isn’t showing up in “recording devices”. I rebooted and connected the mic, windows looked like it was downloading a driver for it which is weird as there is no driver. Then I went to the MXL website and downloaded their free recording software, the mic isn’t showing up there either :unamused:

After thinking a while I’m guessing that windows has downloaded a driver it thinks is for the mic but its screwed things up, now I have no idea how to put it right, then again I’ve been wrong before ! uhhhhh…more thinking to do .