Recording volume way too low... can't work out why

Hi

I’m running Audacity 2.1.2. I’m trying to record to a Heil mic PR30 that is plugged into a Mackie Onyx Producer 2.2.

I’ve ensured that is set up as in Windows 8.1 control panel as the default mic (and the headphones come also from the Onyx are set up the same way). In Audacity the Mic drop down as Onyx Producer but when I record the sound is really quiet. I mean really really quiet. There’s an option for Mono or Stereo and I’ve tested both. Same deal.

Exactly the same configuration when I record a Skype call using Evear is a wonderful perfect volume level.

The monitoring level is around -50. When I record I noticed that the mic and speakers go from being in black text to greyed out text. Not sure if that is relevant.

I’m not a propellerhead or audio guru so am pretty stumped at this stage. Would really appreciate any advice as I’m sure maybe something really basic isn’t configured.

Cheers

Gavin

Ensure that you have the mic pointing in the right direction. It looks like a “side addressed” mic, but it is actually “front addressed” (talk into the end, not the side).

I’ve never used a PR30 for vocals, only for drums (I really like how they handle a snare drum). With them handling the extremely high output from a snare drum so well, I don’t find it surprising that the output might be a bit low for spoken voice.

Another unusual thing about the Heil PR30 is that there is relatively little “proximity effect” (increase in bass when the mic is close to the sound source). This means that provided you use a good “pop shield”, you can get very close to the mic without it becoming too boomy.

Note that this is a “dynamc mic”. Phantom power should be turned OFF on the Mackie.