recording

Help for Audacity 2.x.x on Windows.

ImageThis forum is for Audacity 2.x.x on Windows.
Please state which version of Windows you are using,
and the exact three-section version of Audacity from "Help menu > About Audacity".


Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade at https://www.audacityteam.org/download/.
The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.

recording

Permanent link to this post Posted by thankorov » Sat Feb 10, 2018 10:45 am

Windows 8.1
Version 2.2...

First problem
I open or insert a backing audio track in order to record the lead guitar
I record to the first new track and its OK it records only the lead
Trying to record to a new track it records also the previous one. is there any solution to avoid this?

Second
Can I hear the effect (e.g. echo or delay) while I am recording?
thankorov
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 3:54 pm
Operating System: Windows 8 or 8.1

Re: recording

Permanent link to this post Posted by kozikowski » Sat Feb 10, 2018 1:55 pm

Audacity > Edit > Preferences > Recording.
Make sure [_]Playthrough is not selected, and [X]Overdub is.

Make sure you are recording an actual device like your microphone USB driver. If you like to record on-line content such as YouTube audio, you may be set to record from Stereo-Mix or other "fake" device. The wrong setting can double-up overdubbing sound by accident.
Can I hear the effect (e.g. echo or delay) while I am recording?

Audacity does not apply effects, filters or corrections in real time. So, no.

Koz
kozikowski
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 39151
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:57 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Operating System: OS X 10.9 Mavericks

Re: recording

Permanent link to this post Posted by Lubasha » Mon Feb 12, 2018 2:46 pm

I checked options as following:

Audacity > Edit > Preferences > Recording.
Made sure [_]Playthrough is not selected, and [X]Overdub is.

...but problem persists, the system does not allow me to record multiple tracks as I used to do in old computer before I changed it to new one. It just continues the record on the same track even after I re-installed the program (Audacity 2.2.1)

Please help, what should I do to make multiple trucks (layers) recorded in the same song?
Lubasha
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2018 2:26 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: recording

Permanent link to this post Posted by Lubasha » Mon Feb 12, 2018 7:04 pm

As I mentioned in previous post (probably different attributor) I found solution when applied Always record on new track, it brought the magic in. Thanks for help :-)
Lubasha
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2018 2:26 pm
Operating System: Windows 10


Return to Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: kozikowski and 10 guests