My exported MP3 file levels are too high

I’ve been using Audacity for ten years and this is the first time I’ve encountered (noticed?) this problem. It came up because I’m re-mastering old podcast episodes for a new platform, which has a -2.2dB ceiling as a requirement for their audio files.
I have tried this on two Windows 10 machines, my laptop (Audacity 2.1.0) and my desktop (2.2.1).
The problem: I have a 30-minute recording of spoken audio in one track (mono) and another track of incidental music (stereo). I set my Normalization level to -3.0 dB. When I export the file to MP3 (Constant bit rate mode, 192kbps, Joint Stereo), the MP3 file is somehow normalized to 0.0 dB. I have verified this by re-importing the MP3 file to look at the waveform in Audacity, and also in Adobe Audition.
Is there a setting I’m missing?

Just for grins, does it still behave badly if you convert everything to stereo? This would be a condition odd enough that nobody would have checked it in development.

Does it still do it if you carefully selected each track and applied Normalization one at a time?

Koz

It’s normal for MP3 compression to boost some peaks, although a 3dB change is unusually high. As you probably know, MP3 is lossy compression, so the wave shape changes making some peaks higher and some lower. The new highest-peaks will often be higher, especially if the original file was dynamically compressed/limited.

It’s generally unpredictable, but since you’re getting +3dB you can normalize to about -5.2dB (or less) and after MP3 compression you should get -2.2dB (or less).

Some further info:
When I try exporting to a WAV, the same thing happens, it’s normalized to 0.0 dB.
I’ve experimented with the normalization settings. Going as low as -7.0 dB seems to produce an MP3 file where the variance between the original and the MP3 waveforms is visible.