Newbie really basic question

I am very new to audio/music software. I want to create some music by recording my guitar, then add me playing mandolin, and maybe other instruments and such. Looking at getting a USB mic to start off with. If I’m ambitious, I might use this as a ‘soundtrack’ for a video!

So, can I do this (the audio/music part, not the video) with Audacity: record one track, then play it back ( thru headphones I assume) while I record another thrack, maybe repeat, then mix and produce a music file?

Thanks, David.

That’s basic overdubbing.

Play a backing track into your headphones and record a second track, and then a third, etc.

http://manual.audacityteam.org/man/tutorial_recording_multi_track_overdubs.html

The tutorial is in two major blocks. There’s “Perfect Overdubbing” where you can hear yourself in addition to the backing tracks. That’s the cool one, but it takes separate audio equipment or special microphones. You can’t just plug your headphones into the computer.

If you don’t care about hearing yourself live, then any computer or microphone system will do.

This is Josh only wearing one muff of his headphones so he can hear himself during a multi-track session.
Screen Shot 2017-12-02 at 17.44.07.png
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lLf4Y0wJ3ZI

To specifically answer your question, Edit > Preferences > Recording. [X] Overdubbing should be the only thing selected in that panel.

As per that tutorial link, you do have to set Audacity up so when you perform second, third, and fourth pass, they overlap the backing track exactly. That’s Recording Latency. You don’t have to set that up, but correcting lip-sync in post production is not fun.

Koz

Audacity is a multi-track audio-editor, so the answer is yes, e.g. see … https://youtu.be/1b-39uw0D1s?t=2m13s

There is a slight but significant unavoidable-delay which can cause problems with synchronization, but that can be corrected for, see … Latency Test - Audacity Manual