Waveform peaks not shown above 0.5 or below -0.5

Help for Audacity 2.x.x on Windows.

ImageThis forum is for Audacity 2.x.x on Windows.

  • Please state which version of Windows you are using, the exact three-section version of Audacity from "Help menu > About Audacity".

  • Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade at https://www.audacityteam.org/download/.
    The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.

Waveform peaks not shown above 0.5 or below -0.5

Permanent link to this post Posted by leonclarke » Thu Nov 30, 2017 5:14 pm

Windows 10. Audacity 2.2.0.
The waveform display is greyed out top and bottom for both channels, so can't see the peaks or clicks. Am recording from turntable via headphone port on Arcam alpha 3 amp. No problems before.
leonclarke
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 4:33 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Waveform peaks not shown above 0.5 or below -0.5

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Thu Nov 30, 2017 5:18 pm

I presume that you are recording to a stereo track? (in the device toolbar, the "number of channels" set to "2 (stereo)".

Check in the Windows Sound Control Panel that the recording device is also set to record 2 channel stereo.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Site Admin
 
Posts: 45396
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Waveform peaks not shown above 0.5 or below -0.5

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Thu Nov 30, 2017 5:21 pm

leonclarke wrote:The waveform display is greyed out top and bottom for both channels,

Reading that again, what do the numbers say on the vertical ruler at the left end of the audio track? Have you just zoomed out vertically? http://manual.audacityteam.org/man/zoom ... al_zooming
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Site Admin
 
Posts: 45396
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Waveform peaks not shown above 0.5 or below -0.5

Permanent link to this post Posted by leonclarke » Thu Nov 30, 2017 5:56 pm

Thanks for replies.
Yes sound set to stereo on audacity and windows control panel.
Numbers on scale go from 1.0 at top to -1.0 at bottom.
leonclarke
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 4:33 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Waveform peaks not shown above 0.5 or below -0.5

Permanent link to this post Posted by DVDdoug » Thu Nov 30, 2017 6:13 pm

If the scale shows 1.0 but the waveform is limited/clipped to 0.5, let's try something else - Run the Amplify effect and amplify by +10dB (click the Allow Clipping checkbox). If you're still stuck at 0.5 or not, that should give us some clues. (Of course, back-up your audio files before you start making random changes like that.)

Am recording from turntable via headphone port on Arcam alpha 3 amp
OK, that's "from"... To what? Line-in on a soundcard (good) or mic-in on a laptop/soundcard (bad)?
DVDdoug
Forum Crew
 
Posts: 2918
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 11:30 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Waveform peaks not shown above 0.5 or below -0.5

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Thu Nov 30, 2017 6:25 pm

leonclarke wrote:The waveform display is greyed out top and bottom for both channels

Like this?

Image

or like this:

firsttrack002.png
firsttrack002.png (13.09 KiB) Viewed 172 times


or something different?
A screenshot of the track might help.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Site Admin
 
Posts: 45396
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Waveform peaks not shown above 0.5 or below -0.5

Permanent link to this post Posted by leonclarke » Fri Dec 01, 2017 11:55 am

fullscreen000.png
fullscreen000.png (74.26 KiB) Viewed 141 times

This is the trace.
I am connecting from headphone plug on amplifier to microphone on pc using jack plugs. Previously ok .
leonclarke
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 4:33 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Waveform peaks not shown above 0.5 or below -0.5

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Fri Dec 01, 2017 12:19 pm

You currently have the "multi-tool" selected. To go back to the normal "selection tool" (and the normal view of the audio track), either click the "I" icon button, or press the F1 key. (http://manual.audacityteam.org/man/multi_tool.html)

leonclarke wrote:I am connecting from headphone plug on amplifier to microphone on pc using jack plugs. Previously ok .

That's not ideal because microphone inputs expect a very low (microphone level) signal, not a massive headphone level signal.

First thing is to stop the distortion by turning down the output level from the amplifier.
Then go to the setting in the Windows Sound Control Panel to increase the recording level.
(If there is a "boost" setting for the input, it should be off / not selected)
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Site Admin
 
Posts: 45396
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Waveform peaks not shown above 0.5 or below -0.5

Permanent link to this post Posted by leonclarke » Fri Dec 01, 2017 4:28 pm

Thanks for the last advice to alter recording levels in Windows. Boost down to zero and recording level at max. Seems to be better.
leonclarke
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 4:33 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Waveform peaks not shown above 0.5 or below -0.5

Permanent link to this post Posted by DVDdoug » Fri Dec 01, 2017 6:43 pm

...to microphone on pc using jack plugs. Previously ok .
With the same computer? The problem is your "soundcard (or soundchip). I've seen that before, where the mic input won't go to 100%... It's a problem with the mic preamp.

If you're on a desktop/tower with a regular soundcard, plug-into the line input (usually color-coded blue).

The 50% limit isn't a real-big deal if you turn-down the volume to where it doesn't clip. (You can increase the level digitally after recording.) But as Steve says, the mic input is "wrong" for a headphone-level or line-level signal and you'll usually get poor quality. If you're on a laptop with no line-in, the best solution is to get a USB audio interface with line inputs. (The Behringer UCA202 is popular and inexpensive.) Don't buy a regular "USB soundcard" because they are like laptops with only mic-in and headphone-out.


I am connecting from headphone plug on amplifier
Headphone-out to line-in is OK, but If your amplifier has "tape" outputs (or "record" outputs), that might work better than headphone-out into a line-input. But, tape-out isn't volume-controlled so you won't b able to use it with mic-in.
DVDdoug
Forum Crew
 
Posts: 2918
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 11:30 pm
Operating System: Windows 10


Return to Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 18 guests