Audacity will not record on this computer

Hello all, I have a recording problem. I am a recording artist and I need to record vocals for songs, but when I try to record, I get a flatline. I did use Audacity before with no problems and I have songs out already. It decided to do this for no reason it seems. The thing is, when I plug in my setup into a different computer, it records just fine. If you have any answers, I would greatly appreciate it!

You can start with left-brain obsessive descriptions, model numbers and versions. We can’t work with “a different computer.”

What are you singing into? How is it connected? Which three-number Audacity are you using? Who made your current computer? What’s the model? Has this config ever worked?

If it’s a laptop, can you record at all with the built-in microphone?

Can Audacity find your microphone or microphone system? It’s pretty common to plug in a USB microphone after Audacity is already running and Audacity can’t find it. Start Audacity after you plug everything up or Transport > Rescan.

Koz

I am singing into a microphone connected to a mixer via XLR connected to my computer via a Sabrent USB External Stereo Sound Adapter. I am currently using Audacity 2.2.0 on my Lenovo G70. I can not record at all with the built in microphone as well. Audacity is able to detect that something is plugged in.

Can you find your Windows Start button?

Start > Control Panel > Sound

That should give you a panel similar to this.
Win7SoundPanel.PNG
Switch to the Record Tab. Find the USB device that more or less matches the Sabrent. It may not say that, but it may be the only USB sound device in that panel. Make music or sound into the Sabrent. Do the green bars flash like in my picture?

Audacity gets sound from Windows, not the Sabrent, so it has to get here first.

Let us know.

Koz

OK, that may be a waveoff. Does your Sabrent look like this?
Screen Shot 2017-11-30 at 17.01.10.png