Strange saving thing

Help for Audacity 2.x.x on Windows.

ImageThis forum is for Audacity 2.x.x on Windows.

  • Please state which version of Windows you are using, the exact three-section version of Audacity from "Help menu > About Audacity".

  • Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade at https://www.audacityteam.org/download/.
    The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.

Strange saving thing

Permanent link to this post Posted by Mad » Sat Nov 25, 2017 12:12 pm

Please, a little help from my frindes:
with aud.2.2.0.
I do the recording, some text.
Then I save the track.
Next, I export to MP3.
When I close the file (the recording .aup), I'm asked: save the changes? At the same track I've saved before.Why is that, please. It happens any time I export.
Thanks for your attention.
Mad
Mad
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 8:35 pm
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: Strange saving thing

Permanent link to this post Posted by waxcylinder » Sat Nov 25, 2017 12:45 pm

I can't reproduce this not on the released 2.2.0 nor on the latest Release Candidate for the upcoming 2.2.1 - nor even on the supersede 2.1.3 (on W10 Creators Edition laptop) :?

WC
________________________________________FOR INSTANT HELP: (Click on Link below)
* * * * * FAQ * * * * * Tutorials * * * * * Audacity Manual * * * * * Audacity Wiki * * * * *
waxcylinder
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 9083
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:03 am
Location: Manchester, UK
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Strange saving thing

Permanent link to this post Posted by Trebor » Sat Nov 25, 2017 7:25 pm

Mad wrote: ... I export to MP3.
When I close the file ... I'm asked: save the changes? At the same track I've saved before.

I get that too ...

last warning.png
last warning.png (5.26 KiB) Viewed 213 times

Unless you saved the audio as an Audacity project, you always get that warning when you close Audacity.
It makes sense to give that warning: once you've closed that window your best-quality* version is gone forever, if you haven't saved it as an Audacity project.

[ * Saving in mp3 format compromises sound quality to produce a smaller file size ]
Trebor
 
Posts: 4026
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 5:22 pm
Operating System: Windows Vista

Re: Strange saving thing

Permanent link to this post Posted by waxcylinder » Sun Nov 26, 2017 9:39 am

Trebor wrote:Unless you saved the audio as an Audacity project, you always get that warning when you close Audacity.
It makes sense to give that warning: once you've closed that window your best-quality* version is gone forever, if you haven't saved it as an Audacity project.

Indeed but the origibal poster Mad wrote:
Mad wrote:...
Then I save the track.
Next, I export to MP3.
...


I take that "save the track" to be a "Save Project" - in which case I don't get a prompt to Save the project after the MP3 export when I close Audacity

WC
________________________________________FOR INSTANT HELP: (Click on Link below)
* * * * * FAQ * * * * * Tutorials * * * * * Audacity Manual * * * * * Audacity Wiki * * * * *
waxcylinder
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 9083
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:03 am
Location: Manchester, UK
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Strange saving thing

Permanent link to this post Posted by Mad » Sun Nov 26, 2017 12:53 pm

Maybe i've been misunterstood. let's go again:

You said:
I take that "save the track" to be a "Save Project" - in which case I don't get a prompt to Save the project after the MP3 export when I close Audacity.

That's right, I've saved the Project, and then I close the file "track 1.aup", for example.
Then I open that file "track 1.aup" and next I EXPORT AS MP3. the exportation is finished, now I have also a track 1.mp3.
Finished the exportation, the next step: I close the still opened file "track 1.aup", and at that moment I'm asked: do you want to save the Project:
SAVE THE PROJECT BEFORE CLOSING.
It happens every time I open a saved file and export it as mp3. Always I'm asked if I want to save a previously saved file.
It did'nt happen with the Audacity. 2.1.9. Not in my computer.
Could you explain this? Is there any changes at the original file "aup" when I export it?
Thanks again.
Mad
Mad
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 8:35 pm
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: Strange saving thing

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Sun Nov 26, 2017 1:54 pm

We are confused because what you appear to be saying does not happen for us. Perhaps we are misinterpreting what you are telling us.

Mad wrote:I've saved the Project, and then I close the file "track 1.aup", for example.

What exactly is it that you are closing?
Are you closing the Audacity project (closing the Audacity window that contains the project "track1.aup")?
or are you deleting the audio track that contains the recording?
or do you mean something else?
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Site Admin
 
Posts: 45379
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Strange saving thing

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Sun Nov 26, 2017 1:55 pm

Mad wrote:It did'nt happen with the Audacity. 2.1.9

I presume that is a typo?
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Site Admin
 
Posts: 45379
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Strange saving thing

Permanent link to this post Posted by Trebor » Sun Nov 26, 2017 3:52 pm

Mad wrote:...I open that file "track 1.aup" and next I EXPORT AS MP3. the exportation is finished, now I have also a track 1.mp3.
Finished the exportation, the next step: I close the still opened file "track 1.aup", and at that moment I'm asked: do you want to save the Project:
SAVE THE PROJECT BEFORE CLOSING.
It happens every time I open a saved file and export it as mp3. Always I'm asked if I want to save a previously saved file ...
Could you explain this? Is there any changes at the original file "aup" when I export it?

If you make any adjustment to the Audacity project, (e.g. turning down the gain-slider when making the mp3 to avoid clipping), the project has changed and you'll be asked if you want to save the changed version when you try to close Audacity. If you don't make any changes to the project you shouldn't get the warning.
Trebor
 
Posts: 4026
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 5:22 pm
Operating System: Windows Vista

Re: Strange saving thing

Permanent link to this post Posted by kozikowski » Mon Nov 27, 2017 1:39 am

Export the MP3 first then save the Project. Audacity should not ask again. Audacity uses the Project as the cue to stop asking. If you do anything after you save a Project, Audacity naturally assumes it needs to save a fresh, new Project.

Koz
kozikowski
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 38484
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:57 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Operating System: OS X 10.9 Mavericks

Re: Strange saving thing

Permanent link to this post Posted by Mad » Mon Nov 27, 2017 6:31 pm

Trebor wrote:If you make any adjustment to the Audacity project, (e.g. turning down the gain-slider when making the mp3 to avoid clipping), the project has changed and you'll be asked if you want to save the changed version when you try to close Audacity. If you don't make any changes to the project you shouldn't get the warning.


I absolutely assure you: no ajustment, no changes, nothing with the file of the Project. Happens like this, I tried many times:
I have a file .aup, finished, and saved regulary, let's suppose with the name goldrecord.aup. I open it, just open it. When I close the file, nothing happens. It closes normaly.
Well, now I open the same file, previously saved, the goldrecord.aup. Then I export it like mp3. I do not do absolutely nothing with the goldrecord.aup, just export a file named goldrecord.mp3, ok? This time, when I close the goldrecord.aup it asks me: whana save the changes? Changes that I didn't do. Isn't it strange? Malfunction, maybe?
Look, it seems to be a bug, not a great problem, but a bug.
Of course I can export it first, then save, no problem with that. But I stay wondering what is the problem, Just that. It shouldn't happen, right? Did not happen ever with the 2.1.9, that's all.
But thanks for your time. We'll go one.
Mad.
Last edited by steve on Mon Nov 27, 2017 7:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: fix quote tags
Mad
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 8:35 pm
Operating System: Windows 7

Next

Return to Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests