long length recordings

I am new to audacity using windows 10 and version 2.1.3. I am recording long length tapes originally from radio in the mid to late eighties thru the early nineties, typically 6 hours in length or longer to export in mp3 files. I found that I have to remove a range of music due to signal loss, but it is located in the middle of the file. Is there a way I can put the time to start and stop and erase in between. Also is there a way to put chapters in the file similar to CD chapters to fast forward after transfer to mp3 data discs for playing in my car. Thanks.

Is there a way I can put the time to start and stop and erase in between.

Audacity doesn’t have Articulated Recording. The best we can do is Timer Recording where you can set real-time Start and Stop, and a tool that only records when the volume goes up.

Transport > Record > Timer Record.

Transport > Transport Options > Sound Activation Level.

Audacity can bust up one long recording into individual, sequentially-named files. The goal is to dump these files into your CD Authoring and Burning software to make a CD, but it doesn’t matter what you do with them.

http://manual.audacityteam.org/man/splitting_a_recording_into_separate_tracks.html

Note there’s a way to do this automatically by sensing the gap between songs. That looks great on the tin, but has a lot of problems in real life. By the time you get done finding and correcting the mistakes, you could have just gone and cut the song intervals manually.

Where did you get a six-hour audiotape?

Koz

Also is there a way to put chapters in the file similar to CD chapters to fast forward after transfer to mp3 data discs for playing in my car. Thanks.

You’ll need to make a separate MP3 file for each song (or “chapter”). If you’ve ever purchased an MP3 album from Amazon, that’s what you get.