IUnable to maintain input volume

Help for Audacity 2.x.x on Windows.

ImageThis forum is for Audacity 2.x.x on Windows.

  • Please state which version of Windows you are using, the exact three-section version of Audacity from Help > About Audacity and whether you obtained the .exe installer or the zip.

  • Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade at https://www.audacityteam.org/download/.
    The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.

IUnable to maintain input volume

Permanent link to this post Posted by kithomp » Tue Oct 10, 2017 2:24 pm

On Windows 10 when recording the input volume is fine for a few minutes, but then automatically moves back to the setting for no volume. When I move it back to an audible volume, it again records for a few minutes before moving back to no volume. I have tried it both ways with the sound activated off an on, but neither of those setting work. Is there some other setting that controls the input volume?
kithomp
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2017 6:45 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: IUnable to maintain input volume

Permanent link to this post Posted by DVDdoug » Tue Oct 10, 2017 3:10 pm

Windows is trying to "help" and you need to turn OFF all "enhancements"... See: Why do my recordings fade out or sound as if they were made in a tunnel?
DVDdoug
Forum Crew
 
Posts: 2825
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 11:30 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: IUnable to maintain input volume

Permanent link to this post Posted by kozikowski » Tue Oct 10, 2017 5:34 pm

Audacity gets its sound from Windows, not the device or source. Windows applies voice processing, sometimes whether you want it or not. If you put anything other than voice in to the machine, the processing can act very oddly.

That complicated with other apps. Do you have Skype? Other Chat app?

Koz
kozikowski
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 37957
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:57 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Operating System: OS X 10.9 Mavericks

Re: I an Unable to maintain input volume

Permanent link to this post Posted by kithomp » Wed Oct 11, 2017 12:00 am

Thank you for the suggestions. I tried to check on my PC for the suggestions, but I could not find all of the settings mentioned. I made the changes in the settings that I could find, and found that I did not have any enhancements checked. I also do not have other applications that were mentioned. I am still having the same problem.
kithomp
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2017 6:45 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: I am Unable to maintain input volume

Permanent link to this post Posted by kithomp » Wed Oct 11, 2017 12:41 am

I tried to do the recording on my Windows 7 computer and it worked. I could not get it to work on my Windows 10 computer.
kithomp
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2017 6:45 pm
Operating System: Windows 10


Return to Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 26 guests