worked until now, whats changed.

Help for Audacity 2.x.x on Windows.

ImageThis forum is for Audacity 2.x.x on Windows.

  • Please state which version of Windows you are using, the exact three-section version of Audacity from Help > About Audacity and whether you obtained the .exe installer or the zip.

  • Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade at https://www.audacityteam.org/download/.
    The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.

worked until now, whats changed.

Permanent link to this post Posted by aioli » Sun Oct 08, 2017 8:04 pm

Windows 10- audacity 2.1.3- .exe install.
I've used audacity for a few years now with very few problems, but when I opened it today the recordings all sound like Darth Vader. I installed one app recently [ gimp, a photo app ] which I have removed, but audacity is still bad. I have uninstalled audacity and reinstalled to no effect, and I have tried restarting my laptop. Any suggestions would be welcomed
aioli
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 2:43 pm
Operating System: Please select

Re: worked until now, whats changed.

Permanent link to this post Posted by Trebor » Mon Oct 09, 2017 1:18 am

aioli wrote:... I've used audacity for a few years now with very few problems, but when I opened it today the recordings all sound like Darth Vader ...

This looks relevant ... viewtopic.php?p=317040#p317040
Trebor
 
Posts: 3830
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 5:22 pm
Operating System: Windows Vista

Re: worked until now, whats changed.

Permanent link to this post Posted by aioli » Mon Oct 09, 2017 2:08 pm

Thanks for that but, after trying all the suggestions, nothing has changed. Apparently the mike is working correctly [ according to windows ]
aioli
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 2:43 pm
Operating System: Please select

Re: worked until now, whats changed.

Permanent link to this post Posted by kozikowski » Mon Oct 09, 2017 3:05 pm

I have tried restarting my laptop.

How?

Shift-Shutdown, wait a bit and Start. Regular restart doesn't shut down and reset all services and settings.
Apparently the mike is working correctly [ according to windows ]

Windows will say the mic is OK as long as it can reach it and maybe transfer data. That's what you have now. Did you make a recording in the Windows Recorder?

This has been a sticky problem with no obvious solution. Post back if you get it to work.

Koz
kozikowski
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 37929
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:57 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Operating System: OS X 10.9 Mavericks

Re: worked until now, whats changed.

Permanent link to this post Posted by kozikowski » Mon Oct 09, 2017 3:06 pm

Do you have and/or use Skype?

Koz
kozikowski
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 37929
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:57 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Operating System: OS X 10.9 Mavericks

Re: worked until now, whats changed.

Permanent link to this post Posted by aioli » Tue Oct 10, 2017 9:36 am

Hi, thanks for the interest. I only did a " restart" so I will try a full shutdown and wait a bit. I do have Skype installed but haven't used it for months. I have had a little success by changing from mono [ my preference ] to stereo, but it's been set on mono for over a year without any adverse results [ the problem only started 3 days ago].
aioli
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 2:43 pm
Operating System: Please select

Re: worked until now, whats changed.

Permanent link to this post Posted by aioli » Tue Oct 10, 2017 9:48 am

Hi again Koz, just tried the full shutdown but with no improvement. The mike test was with Windows sound recorder and it worked ok with that so I'm assuming the mike is ok. The improvement on stereo is markedly better but still has some distortion. It's driving me up the wall not knowing whats changed.
aioli
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 2:43 pm
Operating System: Please select

Re: worked until now, whats changed.

Permanent link to this post Posted by kozikowski » Tue Oct 10, 2017 5:48 pm

The mike test was with Windows sound recorder and it worked ok with that so I'm assuming the mike is ok.

That's good troubleshooting. Divide the system in half or change portions of the system and write down what happens.

You can mess with Audacity by adding plugins or other software that Audacity doesn't like.

The desperation method is reinstall Audacity and tick the box that says Reset all Preferences and Settings. You can get a fresh Audacity 2.1.3 from here.

http://www.audacityteam.org/download/windows/

It will be interesting to see if that helps—or changes. Either is valuable.

Koz
kozikowski
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 37929
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:57 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Operating System: OS X 10.9 Mavericks

Re: worked until now, whats changed.

Permanent link to this post Posted by kozikowski » Tue Oct 10, 2017 5:58 pm

I opened it today the recordings all sound like Darth Vader.

Are they the right duration? If you record one minute, are they still one minute and just have sound distortion. Or did they also get longer in time?

The error is upside down from the defect. If your show got longer/lower pitched, then Audacity was recording too fast or a higher sample rate.

You create "Slow Motion" in film by running the movie camera too fast.

Koz
kozikowski
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 37929
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:57 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Operating System: OS X 10.9 Mavericks

Re: worked until now, whats changed.

Permanent link to this post Posted by aioli » Wed Oct 11, 2017 10:31 am

Yes they are all of the same duration. They distort as I said,is like Darth Vader. Stereo has made some difference but the distortion is still audible.
aioli
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 2:43 pm
Operating System: Please select

Next

Return to Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests