Stretching

Hello!
I am a beginner with Audacity, but I am going to use it much, because I am making an electronic piece. Is Paulstretch the only way to change length of a passage? Are there other stretches? Of course, there is “change tempo”, but in my opinion tempo does not exist in the things which i do. There are only different densities of events in time-axis, which never changes. Is there any stretch (and opposite of stretch) which keeps a second and minute always equally long? Can a midi file be opened with Audacity? I didn’t try it yet.

If you set “stretch factor” to 1 there is no stretching, it just causes temporal-blurring, which is like forward & reverse reverb

In 2.1.3 (and earlier) you can import MIDI - but you can’t play it.

BUT in the upcoming 2.2.0 release we have added MIDI playback - we did also have MIDI stretching but that had to be temporarily removed for 2.2.0 as it was somewhat buggy. We do plan to re-introduce it for later releases.

WC

The other effects that affect time are Change Speed and Sliding Time Scale/Pitch Shift.

See: http://manual.audacityteam.org/man/sliding_time_scale_pitch_shift.html

WC

Hello!!!

I like calculating everything.

That’s why I have some questions:

1. If I have max. 10 seconds of sound, what is the easiest way to change the maximum dynamic? I would like to write it as a number, not to do it somehow with the computer mouse. How many dB is the maximum dynamic?

2. I would also like to write exactly (not to click with the mouse), when some things happen - for example 4.568 seconds from beginning. How can I do that?

Do you mean that you want to change the “amplitude”? If so, then the maximum valid amplitude is 0 dB, which is equivalent to the full track height (+/- 1). The “Amplify” effect with default setting will amplify the selected audio to 0 dB. Amplify - Audacity Manual