I can't save equalization curves anymore - please help

Help for Audacity 2.x.x on Windows.

ImageThis forum is for Audacity 2.x.x on Windows.

  • Please state which version of Windows you are using, the exact three-section version of Audacity from Help > About Audacity and whether you obtained the .exe installer or the zip.

  • Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade at https://www.audacityteam.org/download/.
    The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.

I can't save equalization curves anymore - please help

Permanent link to this post Posted by obarrett » Wed Sep 13, 2017 9:32 pm

I'm using Windows 7 and Audacity v.2.1.3.

I've written several custom chains for processing my music, and for some reason today I cannot save a new equalization curve.

I clicked on Add in the Edit Chains dialog box and entered "Test" as the name of my new chain. I then inserted a new equalization macro item and clicked on Edit Parameters. I set the sliders to what I wanted, and then clicked on Save/Manage Curves, and renamed "unnamed" to Test and clicked OK. I then clicked on the Manage button and selected Save Preset, and again entered Test.

I then clicked on OK within the main Equalization dialog box. The name shown next to Select Curve instantly reverted from "Test" to "unnamed", and when I clicked OK within the Select Command dialog box, the curve name within the equalization macro item within the Chain listing also showed "unnamed" instead the "test" name that I chose.

Even worse, I cannot edit the equalization items within any of my existing chains that I used this summer without the curve reverting to "unnamed"!

What am I doing wrong? Do I need to reinstall Audacity and all my curves from scratch?

Thank you very much!

Oliver Barrett
Sunnyvale CA
obarrett
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2017 5:34 am
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: I can't save equalization curves anymore - please help

Permanent link to this post Posted by kozikowski » Thu Sep 14, 2017 1:09 am

Did you export and save your curves as stand-alone XML?

MyFunkyCurve.xml

If you do decide to reinstall Audacity, there is an option where you can [X] reset all your preferences and settings. If you do that, Audacity will start from First Birthday and yes, you will need to put all your curves in again.

But don't do that until somebody familiar with this process posts.

Servicing always asks if you've restarted your machine. Did you? I don't remember if Win7 has this feature or not, but hold Shift and Shutdown and Windows will do a better reset than just straight Shutdown or Restart.

*Google notes says Win 7, 8, and 10 all work that way.

If you have automatic virus software updates, it's possible for the last update to think your work is evil and must be stopped. Disconnect all network services, shut down the virus software and see what happens.

One more. It's possible for you to install a filter or effect and drive Audacity nuts. This would totally be the time to reinstall clean unless you can reliably back out of the last few Audacity add-ons.

Koz
kozikowski
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 37725
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:57 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Operating System: OS X 10.9 Mavericks


Return to Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests