get noise profile does not give any information

Help for Audacity 2.x.x on Windows.

ImageThis forum is for Audacity 2.x.x on Windows.

  • Please state which version of Windows you are using, the exact three-section version of Audacity from Help > About Audacity and whether you obtained the .exe installer or the zip.

  • Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade at https://www.audacityteam.org/download/.
    The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.

get noise profile does not give any information

Permanent link to this post Posted by manit123 » Wed Sep 13, 2017 6:53 am

I am using audacity 2.1.3 on windows 10 64bit OS.

I recorded dialogue on my mobile in a silent room.
First minute had voice and second minute was silent.
I followed http://manual.audacityteam.org/man/noise_reduction.html .
When I select a part of second minute and choose 'get noise profile'
I don't see any indication that whether that button worked.
Is there any way to find out - what noise statistics did audacity gathered ?

thanks.
manit123
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 12:35 pm
Operating System: Please select

Re: get noise profile does not give any information

Permanent link to this post Posted by DVDdoug » Wed Sep 13, 2017 4:10 pm

If you haven't gotten an noise profile the "OK" button is greyed-out and you can't apply the effect.
DVDdoug
Forum Crew
 
Posts: 2827
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 11:30 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: get noise profile does not give any information

Permanent link to this post Posted by Paul L » Wed Sep 13, 2017 4:21 pm

As min123 said, the sign that it worked is that part 2 becomes enabled when you open the dialog again.

Showing statistics is not yet impemented. It's a good idea for development.
Paul L
 
Posts: 865
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 7:37 pm
Operating System: Please select

Re: get noise profile does not give any information

Permanent link to this post Posted by kozikowski » Wed Sep 13, 2017 5:38 pm

It's not going to tell you what your noise is. It's a bloodhound. You let it sniff the noise and it goes howling off down the show until it finds something that matches. Full stop.

If it fails, then you have to do the actual analysis and that's a lot harder.

Are you reading for an AudioBook? We have tools that can help.

I need to drop for a minute.

Koz
kozikowski
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 37967
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:57 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Operating System: OS X 10.9 Mavericks

Re: get noise profile does not give any information

Permanent link to this post Posted by kozikowski » Wed Sep 13, 2017 8:23 pm

part 2 becomes enabled when you open the dialog again.

Yes, but.

Noise Reduction will always open with the last known good profile, whether it's for your show or not. I don't know of any good way to make sure it's going to do what you want.

We can help if you're running into noise problems trying to record voice. Record a brief sound sample and post it here on the forum. Do Not Correct it or change it in any way. Record it normally and File > Export. Don't help it and don't send an MP3.

http://www.kozco.com/tech/audacity/Test ... _Clip.html

Are you on an iPhone or iPod? I know of an app that works pretty well with those. Straight Voice Memo and other apps have too much internal processing to be of use in quality theatrical work. Everything sounds like a wine glass cell call.

Koz
kozikowski
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 37967
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:57 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Operating System: OS X 10.9 Mavericks


Return to Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests