Click track help.

Help for Audacity 2.x.x on Windows.

ImageThis forum is for Audacity 2.x.x on Windows.

  • Please state which version of Windows you are using, the exact three-section version of Audacity from Help > About Audacity and whether you obtained the .exe installer or the zip.

  • Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade at https://www.audacityteam.org/download/.
    The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.

Click track help.

Permanent link to this post Posted by BUCK DAFT » Tue Sep 05, 2017 11:02 pm

Hi,
Currently getting to grips with the new version. When I record a stereo track, great no probs. But if I set up a click track silence......I hear nothing.
Mess around with some settings and when I go to record, a red line and arrow appear at the start of the new track and nothing :roll:

I bet I just need to adjust something.......where would be good place to start ?
Windows 10 & a Presonus audio box USB.

Thanks
BUCK DAFT
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2017 10:52 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Click track help.

Permanent link to this post Posted by kozikowski » Tue Sep 05, 2017 11:38 pm

I set up a click track

By that you mean Generate > Click Track?
Do your settings look something like this:

Screen Shot 2017-09-05 at 16.34.57.png
Screen Shot 2017-09-05 at 16.34.57.png (73.65 KiB) Viewed 127 times


And timeline look like this when you get done?

Screen Shot 2017-09-05 at 16.36.38.png
Screen Shot 2017-09-05 at 16.36.38.png (12.13 KiB) Viewed 127 times


Where do we lose it? The click track settings I believe are default. I've never used it, so I think those are the factory settings.

Koz
kozikowski
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 37719
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:57 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Operating System: OS X 10.9 Mavericks

Re: Click track help.

Permanent link to this post Posted by BUCK DAFT » Wed Sep 06, 2017 8:24 am

Yes matey. Hit play and I can hear the click, then if I hit record silence . :cry:
BUCK DAFT
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2017 10:52 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Click track help.

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Wed Sep 06, 2017 8:43 am

Is "Overdub" enabled in the Transport menu?
"Overdub" must be enabled (on).
"Software Playthrough" must be disabled (off).
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Site Admin
 
Posts: 44458
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Click track help.

Permanent link to this post Posted by BUCK DAFT » Thu Sep 07, 2017 8:30 am

Narrowed the problem down, if I select the computer speakers it records fine. If I select the audiobox to monitor the track it doesn't record.
Strange, any ideas ?

Thanks,
Paul
BUCK DAFT
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2017 10:52 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Click track help.

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Fri Sep 08, 2017 8:10 am

Please describe, step by step, what you are going, and what the problem is. Imagine that we can't see your computer (we can't) and walk us through reproducing the problem.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Site Admin
 
Posts: 44458
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu


Return to Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Trebor and 31 guests