cannot record a copy of my song

Help for Audacity 2.x.x on Windows.

ImageThis forum is for Audacity 2.x.x on Windows.

  • Please state which version of Windows you are using, the exact three-section version of Audacity from Help > About Audacity and whether you obtained the .exe installer or the zip.

  • Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade at https://www.audacityteam.org/download/.
    The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.

cannot record a copy of my song

Permanent link to this post Posted by rjb100 » Sun Aug 27, 2017 11:35 pm

hi all
i am trying to create a chorus effect from my recorded song.
after hitting ''record'' button the second track appears with only straight lines...no waveform.......no sound.

the method i am trying is;
1. record copy of song
2. duplicate the copy
3. pan the duplicates left and right
4. time shift duplicates slightly forward and backward

but alas i am stuck on step 1.
any advice please.
thanks
rj
rjb100
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 10:17 am
Operating System: Please select

Re: cannot record a copy of my song

Permanent link to this post Posted by kozikowski » Mon Aug 28, 2017 2:47 am

i am stuck on step 1.

Right. So you can't record your microphone. What is your microphone and how is it connected to the computer? Do you use the microphone for anything else and has it ever worked for this job? Any job?

You didn't tell us which Windows you have.

Which Audacity do you have—all three numbers.

Koz
kozikowski
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 37719
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:57 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Operating System: OS X 10.9 Mavericks

Re: cannot record a copy of my song

Permanent link to this post Posted by rjb100 » Mon Aug 28, 2017 9:01 am

thanks roz.

i have windows 7 pro and audacity 2.1.3

the song is recorded and saved in my muslc folder.
i imported it into audacity as track 1.
my plan was to record a of copy track 1. and use as track 2. which would then play back together in unison.

i have not used a microphone in this project.
as mentioned previously track 2 goes through the record process but there is no sound or wave form....just two straight lines.
rj
rjb100
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 10:17 am
Operating System: Please select

Re: cannot record a copy of my song

Permanent link to this post Posted by Trebor » Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:11 am

rjb100 wrote:i imported it into audacity as track 1.
my plan was to record a of copy track 1. and use as track 2. which would then play back together in unison.

You don't need to record a copy of track 1 : you can duplicate it ...
Select the track you want to copy , then press "Ctrl"+"D" keys, an identical copy of the track will appear below the original track.

Re: chorus. There is a free VST plugin called Acon multiply, which has some nice chorus effects on it as presets ...

Acon Multiply VST plugin in Audacity 2-1-3 in Windows Vista.png
NB: select the 32-bit version of this plugin, even if you have a 64-bit Windows operating system.
Acon Multiply VST plugin in Audacity 2-1-3 in Windows Vista.png (58.64 KiB) Viewed 296 times
Trebor
 
Posts: 3775
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 5:22 pm
Operating System: Windows Vista

Re: cannot record a copy of my song

Permanent link to this post Posted by MariaWoodson » Mon Aug 28, 2017 1:09 pm

Hi, guys!I still can't believe that I have found an answer to my question! Thanks to all for your precious recommendations!The song has been successfully recorded and saved in my music folder.
MariaWoodson
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 1:04 pm
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: cannot record a copy of my song

Permanent link to this post Posted by rjb100 » Mon Aug 28, 2017 8:54 pm

thanks trebor for the info re the chorus presets.......i will def try this.

however. if i may refer you back to my original post.
i have tried to duplicate the song as track2; and when playing back both tracks together they sound exactly the same.

i have seen a tutorial on you tube where the original is recorded as a copy and playback[both tracks] is a fuller chorus sound because the copy is not a true/exact copy of the original.

the effect can be further enhanced by duplicating the copy [ not original] then panning and finally ; with trim tool , moving track 1 forward a little and track 2 back a little.

so , my problem is......how do i record a copy of my song.

bj
rjb100
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 10:17 am
Operating System: Please select

Re: cannot record a copy of my song

Permanent link to this post Posted by Trebor » Tue Aug 29, 2017 3:31 am

rjb100 wrote: ...my problem is......how do i record a copy of my song.

If you have a recording of your song, "Ctrl"+"D" makes a copy of it instantly. Do it twice and you've got 4 ...

Duplicating twice (2x2=4).gif
Duplicating twice (2x2=4).gif (50.66 KiB) Viewed 269 times

BTW other free chorus plugin are available which work in Audacity in Windows ...
https://www.bluecataudio.com/Products/Product_Chorus/
You're doing it the the slow & hard way by manually time-shifting multiple tracks by different amounts.
Trebor
 
Posts: 3775
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 5:22 pm
Operating System: Windows Vista

Re: cannot record a copy of my song

Permanent link to this post Posted by rjb100 » Tue Aug 29, 2017 9:59 pm

trebor
i have attempted to d/l both acon and black cat[both 32 bit]
acon only installs setup wizard.....cannot proceed; when i try to ''open'' it goes back to setup wizard install.

black cat installs but when opened shows 3 options 1. manual 2. web page 3. uninstall
i have tried in google chrome and firefox and also 64 bit versions.

thanks for your description of my song record problem..v good
from what i have learned from you tube the duplicate copy does not work because it is an exact copy ; whereas the recorded copy is not true and therefore the result produces the effect of two vocalists singing the same song.

the duplicated version is exactly the same as the original ...only one vocalist.

is it possible to make a recording in audacity?? maybe it is incapable of this.

i acknowledge your comment that this method of producing a chorus effect is the hard way to go about this.

rj
rjb100
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 10:17 am
Operating System: Please select

Re: cannot record a copy of my song

Permanent link to this post Posted by Trebor » Tue Aug 29, 2017 11:24 pm

rjb100 wrote:the duplicated version is exactly the same as the original ...only one vocalist.

After you've created 2 duplicate tracks, you can time-shift them, say +/- 10 milliseconds,
pan one full Left , pan the other full right , then you get a chorus-effect if you mix them with the original ...

Before-After manual chorus effect (+ - 10ms).wav
(1.78 MiB) Downloaded 8 times

The chorus plugins can produce richer chorus-effect than doing it manually ...

conspicuous-chorus.xml
The preset data for Acon Multiply, to be imported into the plugin to achieve exactly the same effect.
(507 Bytes) Downloaded 7 times

Here's Steve's Chorus plugin which is specific for Audacity ... viewtopic.php?p=191763#p191763
It's a Nyquist plugin , here's how to install those ...
http://manual.audacityteam.org/man/installing_effect_generator_and_analyzer_plug_ins_on_windows.html#nyquist_install
Trebor
 
Posts: 3775
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 5:22 pm
Operating System: Windows Vista

Re: cannot record a copy of my song

Permanent link to this post Posted by rjb100 » Thu Aug 31, 2017 9:32 pm

trebor
i have been trying to install the chorus vst plugins recommended.
both are in my vst plugin folder.
i have moved the multi voice chorus to audacity add/remove but it will not remain enabled,,,,,,,it goes back to disabled after clicking ok.

i cannot move the bluecat chorus to audacity......it does not show in add/remove box.
rj
rjb100
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 10:17 am
Operating System: Please select

Next

Return to Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 37 guests