Page 2 of 2

Re: unable to record on audacity

Permanent link to this postPosted: Thu Jul 06, 2017 10:11 pm
Posted by kozikowski
how do I record on audacity

Baby steps. Windows has to see your headset before Audacity gets it. Close Audacity.

Right-click on the little speaker picture in the lower right of your Windows desktop > Open Volume Mixer.

Speak into the headset. Do any of the sliders register a bouncing green light?

If not, then I'm out. You may need to select Recording Devices to make this work. I'm not a Windows elf, so we need to wait for one of those to go any further.

https://www.howtogeek.com/244963/how-to ... n-windows/

Koz

Re: unable to record on audacity

Permanent link to this postPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2017 2:24 am
Posted by alice27
did you reply to my last comment, all I want to know is how to record on audacity, this is holding up my work I possible can get, I was testing audacity do I go into like file, an zoom at the top of the program to record, this is the first time I am using audacity....Sharon W

Re: unable to record on audacity

Permanent link to this postPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2017 3:14 pm
Posted by Gale Andrews
kozikowski wrote:
how do I record on audacity

Baby steps. Windows has to see your headset before Audacity gets it. Close Audacity.

Right-click on the little speaker picture in the lower right of your Windows desktop > Open Volume Mixer.

Speak into the headset. Do any of the sliders register a bouncing green light?

Volume mixer is for playback sound, (sound coming out), Koz. I really can't understand why you started telling users to test inputs using Volume Mixer. I suggest you don't.

Right-click over the speaker icon by the system clock, then choose "Recording Devices". Test levels there.


Gale

Re: unable to record on audacity

Permanent link to this postPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2017 3:37 pm
Posted by Gale Andrews
alice27 wrote:did you reply to my last comment, all I want to know is how to record on audacity, this is holding up my work I possible can get, I was testing audacity do I go into like file, an zoom at the top of the program to record, this is the first time I am using audacity....

If you decided to use the headset with two 1/4 inch cables, open Audacity's Device Toolbar and choose the "External Mic" or "Headset Mic" as Recording Device (second box). We can't tell you what the recording device will be called exactly. Choose MME host in the first box.

Then click the Record button in Audacity to record to a new track. Hold SHIFT on your computer keyboard then click Record to record at the end of the same track, Make sure your Project Rate bottom left of Audacity is 44100 Hz.

If you don't see your headset mic in Audacity's Device Toolbar, right-click over the speaker icon by the system clock, then choose "Recording Devices". Right-click in empty space anywhere inside there and choose "Show disabled devices" then right-click again and choose "Show Disconnected Devices". Right-click the headset mic and choose "Enable". See here about how to use Windows SoundĖ http://wiki.audacityteam.org/wiki/Mixer_Toolbar_Issues#vistacp.

If you don't see your headset playback device in Audacity's Device Toolbar, change to playback devices in Windows Sound by clicking the "Playback" tab. Right-click in empty space anywhere inside there and choose "Show disabled devices" then right-click again and check "Show Disconnected Devices". Right-click over the headset and choose "Enable".

Restart Audacity after making changes in Windows Sound, before trying to record again.


Gale

Re: unable to record on audacity

Permanent link to this postPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2017 2:16 am
Posted by alice27
had to reboot my audacity, but now when I hit the record button, cant record, my audio host is MME, my recording device is front mic, but when I click on the recording device, for the front mic, it is blank, and it should not be blank