unable to record on audacity

When I hit the play button to record, it :
error opening sound advice, trychanging the audio host, recording device and the projectsample rate.

what do i use to record an send to prospective client, Do use a headphones plug into the jacks??? …Sharon W

Which three number Audacity do you have?

We need you to describe the show. Windows 10 has a whole list of things that can go wrong depending on what you’re trying to record. Do you have a separate microphone not in the computer? Which one? Is the computer a laptop?

Are you a voice performer auditioning for a voiceover job?

Koz

the audacity that was downloaded is audacity 2.1.3, I have windows 10, no i do not have microphone ( that I know of ) in my system, I am a new voiceover artist, just getting started, can i use my headset and plug the jacks into my system to record… …Sharon W

Cool. When you get that far, we have audiobook mastering tools, processes and inspectors.

can i use my headset and plug the jacks into my system to record.

Sure. What is it? My USB headset was made by Logitech.

We can only go with what you tell us, so the more the merrier. We can extrapolate from simple hardware names and numbers. I have a MacBook Pro 15".

Koz

I need to start recording, and you ar talking about audiobooks, I need to someone to walk me through the process so that I can start recording because of the error that I am getting my headset is insignia and that error i am getting how do i bypass that when I try to record on audacity…

and plug the jacks into my system to record…

If the headset has USB you should be good to go!

If your headset has two [u]3.5mm plugs[/u] (one for the mic and one for the headphones) and your computer has two 3.5mm jacks, you’re good to go!

Or, if both have a 4-conductor 3.5mm TRRS “combo” plugs/jacks", you’re good to go!