Aup. file won't open.

Hello dear Audacity forum.
I’m fairly new to the act of sound editing, and my learning process has gone well until now. I’ve stumbled upon an error message that says, translated from the language my Audacity is in,

Importing Error: (file location and name).aup is an Audacity project file. Use the command ‘File > Open’ to open Audacity projects.

I followed these exact steps and it gave me the same message over and over again.

It’s been giving me this error message since the first time I tried opening this specific project. It was entirely untouched. Other projects worked fine, they were all recorded on another device and shared via Onedrive, and I’ve had no trouble with any of them except for this one. I don’t know if, and how this affects the files, but this one does happen to be the largest one out of all of them (142 kb. not a lot if you ask me…).
After this message appeared several times I tried installing the FFmpeg library, but still no luck. I’ve also attempted to move seperate .au files that were seemingly unable to open. Most of them can open seperately but aren’t in chronological order. I’ve paid close attention to place them back again in the correct folders.

I’m at the end of my powers to do anything about it, so I came here to search for help. I really want to be able to open the file again, cause my friend gave the recordings on it her everything and I would feel terrible if she had to do it all over again.

Additional details:
Windows version on my PC is 10.
Audacity version is 2.1.3.
My friend’s PC crashed right after he saved the project and closed the application. Could this have possibly affected anything?
He tried opening it as well and got the same error message.

Log gives the following error details:

17:47:27: Mime type is *
17:47:27: Opening with libsndfile
17:47:27: Opening with liboggvorbis
17:47:27: Opening with libflac
17:47:27: Opening with lof
17:47:27: Opening with libav