Noob needing help with strange interference please!

Hey guys,

I’m just starting out in voice over work and have my first (unpaid) gig.

WOOHOO, you might say. Well, ordinarily, yes! But I’m having an issue with strange interference.
My setup (at present) is a BM-700 mic running on phantom power via an Editors Keys Studio Series SSX1. Windows 7 Ultimate and Audacity 2.0.5.

Now, The interference is NOT from the mic as I have tried recording with it disconnected. Likewise, I have tried 4 different USB cables and all of my USB ports. I even disconnected the front USB/Sound ports, the external HDD (in case it was resonating through the desk) and even disconnected the case fan. I have no air-con so I don;t know what it could be! So I’m at a bit of a loss really, especially as the client loves my vocal acting, but says the noise is a problem.

Anyway, I’ve attached a 10 sec. sample recorded at a higher volume so you guys can hear it and see if anyone can figure this out! Cuz I’m buggered if I can!!

First person who does sort it, I owe them a pint!

Cheers,

Noel

Noise is analog, so without the mic connected the only source of noise is the SSX1 interface. Assuming the SSX1 is not defective, the only thing I can think of is a noisy power supply on your USB ports. (All of the USB ports get their 5V power from the same supply, so I’m not surprised that all ports are showing the same symptom.)

You can try a “powered” USB hub (a USB bub with a separate power supply), or if you have access to a different computer, try it. If the SSX1 is noisy with a different computer, I’d say it’s defective!