SoX Quality Settings (Inc Phase)

Hello everyone, my 1st post here.

I am totally new to audacity and just checked it out as I wish to take advantage of the new SoX resampling.

It is very cool to see real time SoX resampling with the Time Track.

I am interested in full control over SoX to tune the settings and get best quality possible, at the moment I see in the preferences we have settings for real-time conversion and high quality conversion ranging from Low to Best in both.

I can see no control over the Phase or Aliasing on/off and also no corresponding setting for VHQ mode. Please could someone say the exact settings that SoX is using when in the Audacity Best Quality/Slowest mode in BOTH real-time and high quality modes?

Would be great to have real-time in the ultimate quality mode, this is a feature that I can’t find anywhere else, doesn’t matter if it takes the entire cpu! Could use it for very high resolution slow down and speed up sound effects, esp for material sampled at high rates, maybe make things sound more tape like :slight_smile:

Is there any way to gain more control over the SoX settings without having to compile anything (I wouldn’t know where to start!)

Thanks for a great free program :slight_smile:

I believe that the Audacity “Best” setting is the same as SoX VHQ. However, Audacity uses 32-bit float format rather than 32 bit integer, so you’ll not get quite as “clean” results as SoX, but you get the advantages of float format (such as not clipping at 0 dB).

The short answer is no. However we have had the benefit of Rob Sykes from the SoX development team working with the Audacity developers on this, so I’m confident that it has been implemented well. The presets give a good range from best possible (for 32 bit float) quality to very fast but lower quality. The default settings are the recommended settings.

Thanks for the quick reply. Interesting about the 32bit float, but that’s fine as its what i use anyway :slight_smile: