Automatically adding track silence

Help for all users of Audacity 2.x on Windows.

This forum is for Audacity 2.x on Windows.

Please state which version of Windows you are using, the exact three-section version of Audacity from Help > About Audacity and whether you obtained the .exe installer or the zip.

Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade here. The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.

Automatically adding track silence

Permanent link to this post Posted by Robert42 » Sun Jul 29, 2012 8:24 pm

Audacity 2.0.0
Windows 8RP

Hello,
I am a very basic user of Audacity. I have recently been copying LP tracks. I then user Analyze>Sound Finder to mark and split the tracks using Export Multiple.

This does a good job but removed any silence that was there. What I have been doing is to reload each track file and add 2 seconds of silence manually at the end. This is a bit of a fiddle.

My question is can I automatically add silence to each track file before exporting and if so how?

Thanks
Robert...
Robert42
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2012 8:07 pm

Re: Automatically adding track silence

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Sun Jul 29, 2012 8:43 pm

When you use Sound Finder, you can specify how much silence is included before and after the detected sound.
It is the "Label Starting Point" and "Label Ending Point" settings that do this.

If you wish to retain all of the silence between sounds, use the "Silence Finder" instead. This places "point labels" between sounds (in the silences) so that Export Multiple will export from one silent point up to the next silent point.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Senior Forum Staff
 
Posts: 33992
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am

Re: Automatically adding track silence

Permanent link to this post Posted by Robert42 » Sun Jul 29, 2012 9:01 pm

steve wrote:When you use Sound Finder, you can specify how much silence is included before and after the detected sound.
It is the "Label Starting Point" and "Label Ending Point" settings that do this.

If you wish to retain all of the silence between sounds, use the "Silence Finder" instead. This places "point labels" between sounds (in the silences) so that Export Multiple will export from one silent point up to the next silent point.

Steve,
Thanks for the quick reply. I started off using the Silence Finder but it was putting too many makers in even going to -70db I was still getting problems, The Sound Finder worked great and as I have just played with it again I find I am chopping sound off if I extend "Label Starting Point" and "Label Ending Point" settings. The "Sound Finder" does however do an excellent job of identifying tracks.

Robert...
Robert42
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2012 8:07 pm

Re: Automatically adding track silence

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Sun Jul 29, 2012 9:12 pm

What settings are you using in Sound Finder?
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Senior Forum Staff
 
Posts: 33992
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am

Re: Automatically adding track silence

Permanent link to this post Posted by PGA » Mon Jul 30, 2012 6:13 am

Robert42 wrote:...What I have been doing is to reload each track file and add 2 seconds of silence manually at the end...

If that is to give you the two second silence between tracks on a CD, your CD burning software may (should? will?) have a feature to turn that on or off at burn time.
PGA
 
Posts: 692
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 9:16 pm

Re: Automatically adding track silence

Permanent link to this post Posted by Robert42 » Mon Jul 30, 2012 6:44 am

PGA wrote:
Robert42 wrote:...What I have been doing is to reload each track file and add 2 seconds of silence manually at the end...

If that is to give you the two second silence between tracks on a CD, your CD burning software may (should? will?) have a feature to turn that on or off at burn time.

AH! perhaps I should have mentioned this in the first place. The tracks are not going onto a CD. I play my music through Logitech Squeezebox as FLAC files so the tracks play one after another. The 2 second cap is what I would like and I put it on manually. I am wondering if there is a way to automatically split the tracks withing Audacity then it would be easy to add the silence to each track then export it.
As for settings I have found default the best moving the sliders does not help. I have tried to insert silence after running "Sound Finder" but this messes everything up by shifting the markers.

Robert...
Robert42
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2012 8:07 pm

Re: Automatically adding track silence

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Mon Jul 30, 2012 8:45 am

Robert42 wrote:As for settings I have found default the best

If you change the "Label Starting Point" from 0.1 (default) to 1.1, then that will add an additional 1.0 seconds to the start of the label position. Similarly if you change the "Label Ending Point" from 0.1 to 1.1 that will add an additional 1.0 seconds to the end of the label.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Senior Forum Staff
 
Posts: 33992
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am

Re: Automatically adding track silence

Permanent link to this post Posted by Robert42 » Mon Jul 30, 2012 4:41 pm

steve wrote:
Robert42 wrote:As for settings I have found default the best

If you change the "Label Starting Point" from 0.1 (default) to 1.1, then that will add an additional 1.0 seconds to the start of the label position. Similarly if you change the "Label Ending Point" from 0.1 to 1.1 that will add an additional 1.0 seconds to the end of the label.

Hi Steve,

I still got no silence. To be honest after working a few albums I think manual is quicker. All I do there is mark the end of the track then Shift+J,^X, ^N, ^V and then export the track. Albums like Bathory "Twilight of The Gods" with the use of a wind machine cannot automatically split anyway.

Thanks for the help.

Robert...
Robert42
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2012 8:07 pm

Re: Automatically adding track silence

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Mon Jul 30, 2012 5:35 pm

I must admit that I find this rather puzzling.
If I write out some step by step instructions, would you be prepared to spend a few minutes running a little test just to check if soundfinder is actually doing what it should be doing?
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Senior Forum Staff
 
Posts: 33992
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am

Re: Automatically adding track silence

Permanent link to this post Posted by waxcylinder » Mon Jul 30, 2012 5:46 pm

Robert42 wrote:To be honest after working a few albums I think manual is quicker...

I totally agree (and I've done hundreds)

I place markers with Ctrl+M as the LP is playing and recording in Audacity. I clean up the inter-track gaps to true silence and usually do fades (in and out) to the silence. Often I shorten the inter-track gap.

Steve has just introduce what I think is an excellent new fade-out plug-in (called pro-fade) which IMO gives amuch better fade than the current Audacity linear fade out. See this thread: viewtopic.php?f=42&t=66654

WC
________________________________________FOR INSTANT HELP: (Click on Link below)
* * * * * FAQ * * * * * Tutorials * * * * * Audacity Manual * * * * * Audacity Wiki * * * * *Donate * * * * *
waxcylinder
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 7273
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:03 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Next

Return to Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 6 guests