Possible to Compress/Limit Input Signal?

Help for all users of Audacity 2.x on Windows.

This forum is for Audacity 2.x on Windows.

Please state which version of Windows you are using, the exact three-section version of Audacity from Help > About Audacity and whether you obtained the .exe installer or the zip.

Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade here. The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.

Possible to Compress/Limit Input Signal?

Permanent link to this post Posted by fmelish » Mon Jul 23, 2012 3:31 am

Is it possible to use either a compressor or limiter effect in the input signal? When I record a signal (e.g. mic in a large conference room, or a conference phone call) that has a large dynamic range, I'd like to record at a good strong level, yet avoid clipping. I know I can use a compressor or limiter on the already-recorded signal, but is there a way to process it before it's recorded? I'm running Audacity 2.0.1 on Windows 7 x64 sp1.
fmelish
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 3:00 am

Re: Possible to Compress/Limit Input Signal?

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Mon Jul 23, 2012 4:11 am

You could use a hardware compressor between the microphone pre-amp and the computer audio input.
Audacity does not do real time processing so it is not possible to do that just with Audacity.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Senior Forum Staff
 
Posts: 34319
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am

Re: Possible to Compress/Limit Input Signal?

Permanent link to this post Posted by fmelish » Mon Jul 23, 2012 10:58 am

Thanks for the speedy reply. Is there any (preferably free) recording program you can recommed that does do real-time input processing, such as compressing or limiting?
fmelish
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 3:00 am

Re: Possible to Compress/Limit Input Signal?

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Mon Jul 23, 2012 12:41 pm

Even if there is it would be of limited use.
Any software compressor can only compress the signal after it has been digitised, so in terms of overload protection it offers no advantages over setting the recording level low enough to handle the loudest peaks and then applying a compressor/limiter when the recording is complete. There would however be a downside to real time compressing in that it is not reversible. If you apply too much or too little compression while recording, then you're stuck with it, whereas if you apply compression after, you can try your settings on a short sample first, and if you don't like the result you can undo and try again.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Senior Forum Staff
 
Posts: 34319
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am

Re: Possible to Compress/Limit Input Signal?

Permanent link to this post Posted by kozikowski » Mon Jul 23, 2012 2:51 pm

Live recording is still one of the holdouts in the automatic audio world. There isn't one setting that will record everything, although there are laboratory amplifiers and digitizers that will do that, they don't produce an entertainment quality music file.

What happens when you set your recording for good headroom and just apply the compressors later? The limit in most performances is not high dynamic range, is the competing sounds like room noise, traffic noise, etc. Chris's Compressor does a very credible job of evening out loudness variations in a show.

http://theaudacitytopodcast.com/chriss- ... -audacity/

Turns out podcasts don't go through a radio broadcast compressor and they're almost impossible to listen to in the field/jogging/walking, without constant juggling of the volume control on your iPod. A trip through Chris before you push the show to your iPod solves this.

Koz
kozikowski
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 25822
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:57 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Possible to Compress/Limit Input Signal?

Permanent link to this post Posted by kozikowski » Mon Jul 23, 2012 2:55 pm

a large conference room

We can't take out echoes and reverb. That's one of the ways to kill a show (#1). You are also flirting with #2.

-- The Four Horsemen of Audio Recording (time tested ways to kill your show)
-- 1. Echoes and room reverberation (Don't shoot the show in your mom's kitchen.)
-- 2. Overload and Clipping (Any sound that's too loud is permanently trashed.)
-- 3. Compression Damage (Never do production in MP3.)
-- 4. Background Sound (Don't leave the TV on in the background.)
kozikowski
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 25822
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:57 pm
Location: Los Angeles


Return to Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot] and 9 guests