Ugly waveforms

Hi, first off I want to say Audacity is the sh!t, I’ve been using it for 6 years now and it’s just the simplest program ever!

Lately I’ve been running into a problem. Until a couple of months ago, I’ve been recording guitar tracks (clean signal) and what I would get are smooth, dynamic, curvy, full waveforms (beautiful like the curves of a woman lol). These waveforms mean that the signal is perfect for processing with an ampsim. After the ampsim, the waveform would resemble the clean guitar signal, dynamic, and in turn, pleasing to the ear. My guitar sound was PERFECT.

This is the only clean signal I still have left from that period. Notice how smooth and dynamic and round it looks, right?

However, a couple of months ago, all of a sudden when I’m recording guitar tracks, I noticed that I’m getting these nasty, flat, ugly, spikey, “cold and sterile”-looking waveforms like in the image below:

These waveforms mean that the signal is not good for processing with an ampsim. It already sounds a tad harsh and it already looks distorted. So after this signal goes through the ampsim (same settings of course) it sounds NASTY!! And I have the gain at 2,5 out of 10!!! Now I’m crying and crying, because only a couple of months ago, I had the PERFECT guitar sound, and now I don’t anymore =(

Now this might not have anything to do with Audacity itself, but the thing is, this has been happening with another guitar as well. After my first guitar started giving me these ugly waveforms, I switched to my other one and that one gave me smooth waveforms again!! I was soooo happy!

BUT, after 2 weeks, I started getting the same ugly waveforms again like with my first guitar!

What is going on here??

I know that power chords have cleaner waveforms than bigger chords, like major and minor chords, I know that. But I’m still having this problem even with power chords!

I’m using a t.bone USB-1G cable which connects the guitar to a USB port on my laptop.