Will Audacity work for me?

I am a complete novice. I have created videos with Sony Vegas. I need to add audio. I need to create 5 unique “voices” that I can use over and over in various new projects. Can I save a voice to use over and over?

Can I record up to 5 voices in a dialog to put into a video?

Will Audacity work for what I am trying to do? If not, do you know of any other programs I could use?

I have Windows 7. What sort of equipment (microphone) will I need? I am on a limited budget.

Sure, but you’ll be recording five people. Audacity does not have tools to make you sound like somebody else – let’s get that out of the way at the top.

All we are is a sound editor. Audacity can be made to open many different video formats and play the sound, but it can only write new sound files. You’ll need a video editor to put it all back together. Which brings us directly to: What kind of sound files do you need? Do us a big favor and work in high quality WAV files or something similar and not MP3. MP3 creates sound damage and it gets worse as you crank through your show.

You can probably make good use of a USB microphone. Windows sound cards tend to not work very well, so digitizing your voice outside the computer is usually a god idea. That’s not the problem. The biggest sound problem you’re going to have (I predict) is finding a room to record in. I know people who record their voice in a closet with quilts along the walls to get rid of the echoes and reverb

There are no Audacity tools to fix this…

http://kozco.com/tech/audacity/clips/EchoSample.mp3

Have you ever recorded your voice before? Do you have a laptop?

Koz

Yes, I do have a laptop. No, I have not recorded my voice before.

Audacity looks like the perfect tool to put all these voices together for my video. Thank you for the tips.