saving project as.... file

while trying to save project as… i get error saving project… could not save project.perhaps[file name]is not writable or the dick is full. the disk is not full. What would keep the file from being writable? I’m new to audacity and not an expert when it comes to computers. I’m using win 7and used an exe. installer

Using invalid characters in the file name, such as punctuation marks or slashes.
Try using only letters, numbers, spaces, hyphen (-), underscore (_) in the file name.

thats all i’m using. the file name is, 2012-04-05 Ed Cowger_bitterness, is their anything wrong with this? It was working fine before with this format i was able to save two pervious files that way now i can’t.

Are you trying to overwrite an existing file?
What format are you trying to use?
How much free disk space?
How long is the recording?
What is the exact location that you are trying to save to.
Which version of Audacity are you using? (look in the Help menu > About Audacity)

It’s really poor practice to constantly overwrite one single file as you edit. You can get days into the production and have the lights go out, the computer glitch, or any of a million other problems and that’s the end of the show. The original shoot and all the editing are gone. No going back to yesterday’s version or the edit you did last week.

People complain that they’re just editing a little thing for school and it doesn’t matter. The problem is you carry that habit with you into bigger productions where it matters a great deal. Koz

One further possible source of the problem: what, if any, metadata do you have associated with that file?