Code for a Bell Tone

Using Nyquist scripts in Audacity.
Post and download new plug-ins.

If you require help using Audacity, please post on the forum board relevant to your operating system:
Windows
Mac OS X
GNU/Linux and Unix-like

Re: Code for a Bell Tone

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Mon Apr 24, 2017 8:59 pm

It generates a 2 second "ringing bell" type sound.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Site Admin
 
Posts: 45316
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Code for a Bell Tone

Permanent link to this post Posted by Annabelle3985 » Tue Apr 25, 2017 1:16 am

steve wrote:Which version of Audacity are you using, and what operating system?


Audacity 2.1.3 with Windows 7 64 Bit.
Annabelle3985
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2015 1:17 am
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: Code for a Bell Tone

Permanent link to this post Posted by kozikowski » Tue Apr 25, 2017 5:43 am

It generates a 2 second "ringing bell" type sound.

How do you expect that to play, given neither of us could get it to work?

I don't seem to have Generate > Nyquist. If I give the appearance of being clue-free, it's only because I am. And no, I don't think it's a code problem.

Koz
kozikowski
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 38442
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:57 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Operating System: OS X 10.9 Mavericks

Re: Code for a Bell Tone

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Tue Apr 25, 2017 10:46 am

@ Annabelle3985
The Nyquist Prompt effect in Audacity 2.1.3 allows more than 10 lines.
When more than 10 lines are entered, a scroll bar appears.

It should be possible to just copy and paste the code from the forum into the Nyquist Prompt text box, though I have just discovered that there are problems copying the text in Firefox, Chrome and Microsoft Edge. Internet Explorer appears to be OK in this respect.


kozikowski wrote:Nyquist Prompt is not available with a blank window

The Nyquist Prompt has been written as a "process" type effect (aka an "Effect"), which is why it appears in the "Effect" menu.
Ideally, it should be a "Tool / Utility" type effect, but Audacity does not have a menu for that, so we are stuck with it as a "process" effect, even though it can work as a process (Effect), Generate, or Analyze type effect. A consequence of this is that there must be an audio selection before you can access the Nyquist Prompt.

Once the Nyquist Prompt is open, then it can produce any type (process, generate or analyze) of effect. In this case, the Nyquist Prompt produces a "generate" type of effect.


kozikowski wrote:the code seems to do nothing if I apply it to one minute of silence.

If Nyquist code does not behave as expected, the first thing to do is to run it with the "Debug" button and see if any errors are reported.
Nyquist error messages can be difficult to interpret - that's one reason for having this forum board.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Site Admin
 
Posts: 45316
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Code for a Bell Tone

Permanent link to this post Posted by cyrano » Tue Apr 25, 2017 9:27 pm

Illegal characters galore after pasting into the Nyquist prompt. Tried with the latest Chrome, Vivaldi 1.8.770.56 and the most recent Safari for Mavericks. All the same.
cyrano
 
Posts: 1283
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 11:54 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.9 Mavericks

Re: Code for a Bell Tone

Permanent link to this post Posted by Trebor » Tue Apr 25, 2017 11:05 pm

Telephone code working for me : Iron browser, Audacity 2.1.3, on Windows Vista ...

Telephone simulation code works on Windows Vista.gif
Telephone simulation code works on Windows Vista.gif (84.97 KiB) Viewed 1115 times
Trebor
 
Posts: 4015
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 5:22 pm
Operating System: Windows Vista

Re: Code for a Bell Tone

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Tue Apr 25, 2017 11:31 pm

cyrano wrote:Illegal characters galore after pasting into the Nyquist prompt. Tried with the latest Chrome, Vivaldi 1.8.770.56 and the most recent Safari for Mavericks. All the same.

On Mac?

I've also noticed multiple problems with copy and paste on Windows and Linux: viewtopic.php?f=32&t=95655
Nyquist code needs to be plain ASCII text. If a browser substitutes some other character encoding, the script won't work (illegal character errors).

Please try this code:
bell.txt
(492 Bytes) Downloaded 44 times

It is exactly the same code as in my previous post, but as a plain text file.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Site Admin
 
Posts: 45316
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Previous

Return to Nyquist



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests