Copy from 'code' text

Suggestions and Questions About the Forum Web Site.

ImagePost here only if the Forum isn't working as you would like or expect.

If you require help using Audacity, or think you have found a "bug", please post on the forum board relevant to your operating system.
Windows
Mac OS X
GNU/Linux and Unix-like

Copy from 'code' text

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Tue Apr 25, 2017 9:49 am

Windows 10:

Microsoft Edge corrupts Nyquist code when copied from "code" boxes in forum posts.
Leading spaces are encoded, (possibly as non-breaking space?) which creates invalid characters for the Nyquist interpreter.
Other characters may also be affected (not tested).

Firefox and Chrome:
Clicking the "Select All" link does not select all, it just scrolls to the top of the page.

Internet Explorer selects and copies the text as expected.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Senior Forum Staff
 
Posts: 44237
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Copy from 'code' text

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Tue Apr 25, 2017 10:49 am

Firefox 53.0 64-bit Linux.

The same problem as Firefox on Windows 10.
This is a new 'bug', so I'm now wondering if it is related to the recent changes on the server.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Senior Forum Staff
 
Posts: 44237
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Copy from 'code' text

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Tue Apr 25, 2017 12:54 pm

steve wrote:Firefox and Chrome:
Clicking the "Select All" link does not select all, it just scrolls to the top of the page.

This appears to be a bug in phpBB that has emerged due to recent browser updates breaking a workaround for a different bug. I'm discussing a possible fix with our SysAdmin.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Senior Forum Staff
 
Posts: 44237
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Copy from 'code' text

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Wed Apr 26, 2017 2:32 pm

steve wrote:Firefox 53.0 64-bit Linux.

The same problem as Firefox on Windows 10.
This is a new 'bug', so I'm now wondering if it is related to the recent changes on the server.

This part is now fixed. If anyone still finds "Select All" not working in Firefox on Linux, try reloading the page (Ctrl + R) or clear the browser cache.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Senior Forum Staff
 
Posts: 44237
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Copy from 'code' text

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Thu Apr 27, 2017 12:12 am

steve wrote:Windows 10:
...
Firefox and Chrome:
Clicking the "Select All" link does not select all, it just scrolls to the top of the page.

This also works now.

steve wrote:Microsoft Edge corrupts Nyquist code when copied from "code" boxes in forum posts.
Leading spaces are encoded, (possibly as non-breaking space?) which creates invalid characters for the Nyquist interpreter.
Other characters may also be affected (not tested).

The problems appears to only affect leading spaces. Non-breaking spaces are inserted when copied by Edge. Until / unless Microsoft fix it, I think all that we can do about this is to say, "if you want to copy code, don't use Edge".

Internet Explorer still works OK.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Senior Forum Staff
 
Posts: 44237
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu


Return to Maintaining / Improving this Forum



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests