File upload limits

Split from http://forum.audacityteam.org/viewtopic.php?p=264621#p264621

There is a little problem and I write this with all due respect and appreciation for the folks who run this site.

Back in another incarnation I was a system administrator, when disk storage was very expensive. It seems that the software on which this forum is based was written in that date and age. As a result, the size limits are absurd. Needless to say, hard disk storage is dirt cheap these days. The forum software may be recompiled with higher upload size limits.

Related: When I first tried, naively, to upload my clips, I was informed by the site: “Maximum size is 2 MB”. I kept on trimming my clip. Next, the system changed its mind! “The Maximum size is 1 MB”. I ended up uploading it to DropBox.

If disk storage is really an issue, I would institute a policy of removing the older audioclips.

-Ramon

Have you read How to post an audio sample? There is guidance there on places to upload to. A lot of people use Dropbox, OneDrive or similar these days.

Space isn’t limitless, correct. WAV files are very large.

If you are familiar with phpBB software you will know that we can disable the attachment limit then there is a limit determined by our PHP configuration. I don’t know what that limit is.

I am confident we could raise the upload limit, but to what value? The main use case for uploading files is to demonstrate a problem. People should be uploading exported small parts of a project to demonstrate the problem. They should not be uploading an entire song saying “here it is, please fix it” which I think high limits would encourage.

Also we are not a company. Volunteers pay for their bandwidth out of their own pockets.

Gale

It would also encourage abusing the forum by using it as a “free” (paid for by people that have donated to Audacity) file sharing service and for illegally distributing copyrighted material.