Audible.com QC standards

Narrating and Producing Audiobooks.

ImageIf you require help using Audacity, please post on the forum board relevant to your operating system:
Windows
Mac OS X
GNU/Linux and Unix-like

Audible.com QC standards

Permanent link to this post Posted by c.craig58 » Tue May 07, 2013 2:48 pm

I am a new audiobook producer, using the ACX.com site, which sets the recording standards for posting audiobooks to Audible.com The standards page is at https://www.acx.com/help/rules-for-audi ... /200485520

I get good recording quality on my recording gear, and Audacity is very good for editing and exporting in the formatting required here.

My concern is: is Audacity capable of allowing me to meet the QC mastering (quality control) standards that this page states? And if not, what kind of mastering software would this forum recommend to me?

THANKS VERY MUCH -
c.craig58

Operating System: Please select

Re: Audible.com QC standards

Permanent link to this post Posted by kozikowski » Tue May 07, 2013 4:26 pm

Pretty much what we have been recommending people do forever -- except for punch-in. Audacity doesn't do that. One alternative method not mentioned is to set a label with hot keys when you make a fluff and start the sentence over again right then. The label will tell you where to go back later to patch the work. Surgically remove the fluff. Much faster than copy/paste editing.

They even got the editing time down. Three or four times the show length to get the editing done. That burns people all the time.

They hit all the high points except room echo. Generally, sounding like you were recording in a kitchen is to be avoided as are neighborhood noises like dogs barking and running the TV. We can't fix those in post production. You have to have a quiet room at the start. They even got the WAV/MP3 thing down. Never record directly to MP3.