Minimum decibel cutoff for large quantity of files

I’m a masters student using bioacoustic monitoring for my research this summer. I’m also a complete novice with all things audio. The question i have relates to distance and volume.

Here’s the short and sweet version of the background info: the remote recorders that i’ll be setting up can detect the loudest of my study species (Puerto Rican coquí frogs) at ~50 meters. There are areas that i’ll be working in where that is actually too far. I need to sample the variety of species on coffee farms, some of which have dimensions under 50m; with the mic’s sensitivity i’ll be picking up species from off of the farm (in the surrounding forest). This completely washes out my results from these farms.

My proposed solution: play a test tone at the frequency that the frogs call at (~1.5khz) and the volume that they call at (~100dB) at a distance of 35-40 meters (minimum dimension of the smallest farm). The idea being that i can then use this test tone on the recording as the minimum decibel cutoff for the recording. The software that i’ll use to run my analysis will be trained to recognize the various calls and once the minimum volume is set i’ll only record species on the farms. Is this a sound idea? (No pun intended.) I have two concerns with my solution, 1) i might lose some species on the farms that call at lower dB, which isn’t a huge issue as long as this is standardized across all locations; 2) i’m going to have about 144 1 minute recordings from 39 or so locations, for a total of 28,080 recordings. Which means i’ll need to be able to do this en masse, in some sort of batch editing. Is this possible?

My apologies if this isn’t the correct place on the forum, or if it’s outside of the scope of it. Like i said, i’m totally new to this and looking for any help i can get. This is waaay outside of the range of stuff that my advisor has experience with.

Thanks in advance for any and all input/feedback.
Kris