Tinny sounding dynamic mic

Hi Audacity community,

I’m new to podcasting and to audacity. Recorded my second interview yesterday. It was in a hotel lobby so instead of using my better condenser mics I used a pair of backup Audio Technica MB3K hypercardioid dynamic vocal mics. They were effective in not picking up most of the background lobby noise, but when I play back the raw recording, our voices have a tinny, magnetic quality. It’s hard to describe, and it’s subtle, but I can definitely hear it.

Here is a link to an mp3 section of the recording: https://politypartners.files.wordpress.com/2017/03/dynamic-mic-selection.mp3. Aside from importing the WAV file to AUD and then exporting to MP3 so I could post a link here, I haven’t edited the audio at all,

I would love any advice about using EQ or some other effect to help get rid of that subtle tinny, magnetic sound.

Many thanks,
Josh

OK, so we have a field interview recording. How did you record it? On what? Model numbers?

Two microphones? Are they each on their own tracks, say Stereo Left has Microphone One, Stereo Right has Microphone Two?

It will take a minute to pull down the track for listening.

Koz

Koz, thanks for the quick response. I used two mics, each on their own mono track. (The MP3 is just one of the tracks, not both). Recorded it on a Zoom H6 then just transferred the WAV file to audacity on my laptop.

Screen Shot 2017-03-17 at 18.55.14.png
I don’t think these are what you think they are—unless I got the wrong one.
Have you used these microphones before?

It’s never a good sign when the ad says " High Output" and “Extended Response for Clarity.”

That usually means overly crisp and sometimes harsh with higher distortion than you would think.

It’s not hypercardioid. It’s “unidirectional” which means most of the sound comes in from the front most of the time, but don’t hold us to that. Real hypercardioid looks like reverse garden hose water. Unless you’re right in front of it, zippo, nothing.