making a demo of my band, need advice

I’m not new to sound engineering, (ten years mixing experience) but I am new to trying to put out a professional sounding recording. Right now we’re recording my band one instrument at a time. the instrumentals are sounding really clean so far, but I’m getting nervous about recording the vocals.

We have good studio quality microphones, but in post production, what effects should I be expecting to use through audacity to give it that pro sound? Compression? normalization?

here are some clips of what we have done so far, maybe somebody here can help me with the process

http://markfinley.bizland.com/Tequila%20Sunrise.mp3

http://markfinley.bizland.com/Johnny%20B%20Goode.mp3

thanks!

Anybody can rip a fresh recording apart and I have some content comments, but try to avoid base rookie mistakes.

The samples seem pleasant to listen to, but they seem to be playing to different rhythms. How are you doing your overdubbing? Most computers need a little timing help if you didn’t use purpose-built hardware (we’re writing an extensive document on this.) Get the drummer to do a simple, straight tap, tap, tap and then overdub with him doing it again – to himself. they should perfectly line up when you play the composite.

Both samples seem to have microphone buzz at the top. Bad mic cable? Fluorescent lights in the studio? Worse, dimmers on the ceiling lights? I use undimmed incandescent lights – or candles. I had to take a CFL replacement bulb out once because it made too much noise.

Most people kill vocals by recording them in a bathroom. Nothing says newbie like sounding like they were recorded in Mom’s basement / the third bedroom /the garage. My third bedroom happens to be soundproofed because the kid in the house before me played drums. Most people aren’t so lucky. There are performers at work that lined a closet with quilts and record in there. I made a portable studio once with moving blankets.