Fraunhoffer for Audacity?

Effects, Recipes, Interfacing with other software, etc.

If you require help using Audacity, please post on the forum board relevant to your operating system:
Windows
Mac OS X
GNU/Linux and Unix-like

Fraunhoffer for Audacity?

Permanent link to this post Posted by adaptiman » Mon Mar 19, 2018 4:10 am

I've been told that LAME encoding is not as good (quality-wise) or fast as the Fraunhoffer encoder. Do you think this is true? Is there a way to use the Fraunhoffer encoder in Audacity?
adaptiman
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 8:28 pm
Operating System: Linux Debian

Re: Fraunhoffer for Audacity?

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Mon Mar 19, 2018 4:02 pm

No, it's not true. The Fraunhofer encoder was abandoned years ago. It think the "latest" version was around 2007. Lame is still under development and has made significant improvements over the past decade, particularly in VBR encoding.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Site Admin
 
Posts: 46549
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Fraunhoffer for Audacity?

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Mon Mar 19, 2018 6:36 pm

adaptiman wrote:Is there a way to use the Fraunhoffer encoder in Audacity?

Audacity is able to use command line encoders: http://manual.audacityteam.org/man/expo ... ogram.html
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Site Admin
 
Posts: 46549
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu


Return to Audio Processing



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests