Tascam 16x08... or 4x4 & 2x2 (multi-source)

Hi everyone! I have a few questions as I’m fairly new to Audacity and was thinking of using it as the recording solution for a table-top gaming podcast a group of us are looking to set up.

I’m wondering if anyone has run into any recording issues with Audacity from multiple USB multi-sources?
I’m considering picking up one of two hardware setups and wondering if I’ll run into any issues:

TASCAM US-16x08 (16 channels is overkill for me as I truly only need 6 maximum)
or
TASCAM US-4x4 and US-2x2 (ideally using the both sets of XLR inputs as I need up to six hard mics).

Will Audacity automatically grab the channels from the TASCAM usb device or will there be configuration within Audacity required (other than “select recording source”)?
If I have two USB devices (if I were to use both the 4x4 and the 2x2 simultaneously), will Audacity allow me to select both USB audio-sources and will it automatically see and record the total of six channels (4 from one device and 2 from the second)- or will I have to Macgyver Audacity to see both separate sources simultaneously?
Lastly, has anyone had any issues/experience with recording a 4 hour audio session in Audacity? I’m worried about lock-ups or freezing.

The pc I’ll be using is an i7 4790k, Windows 10 x64 OS, 16gb memory (in case anyone needs to know).

Audacity as a rule can’t deal with multiple different devices. You get one, but that one can be multi-channel.

https://forum.audacityteam.org/t/multi-channel-recording-in-audacity/15644/1

They don’t all work and there’s no way to know unless somebody posts one way or the other.

I believe Audacity can only play stereo.

Koz

4 hour audio session in Audacity?

Not quite the right words. You want a four hour uncompressed multi-track recording. And then, the first change or edit you make, Audacity is going to try to save the whole show again as an UNDO. And it will do that at every edit.