How record with 2 mics?

Did you buy a new mixer? Do you need advice? Post here.

If you require help using Audacity, or think you have found a "bug", please post on the forum board relevant to your operating system.
Windows
Mac OS X
GNU/Linux and Unix-like

How record with 2 mics?

Permanent link to this post Posted by naruto177 » Sun Oct 30, 2011 3:10 am

I want to record with built in laptop mic and using my POD hd 500 with my guitar so 2 mics. How can I do both at the same time?
naruto177
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2011 2:43 am

Re: How record with 2 mics?

Permanent link to this post Posted by kozikowski » Sun Oct 30, 2011 6:17 am

Newer Macs can use the Aggregate Device feature to combine two USB microphones into one.
Everybody else buys a mixer.

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/PV6
This is the one we use at work and I have one.

They make a USB version of this for PCs.
http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/PV6USB

http://www.shure.com/americas/products/ ... ereo-mixer
I have one of these. That will do three microphones.

Koz
kozikowski
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 26300
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:57 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: How record with 2 mics?

Permanent link to this post Posted by kozikowski » Sun Oct 30, 2011 6:24 am

Audacity will only recognize one sound device -- not two or more -- and most computers have one digitizer or sound management channel. I think the older SoundBlaster sound cards used to have the ability to fade up Mic-In and Line-In at the same time and you could fake it that way. Newer sound cards switch only.

There may be something on the Linux side that will do this.

Koz
kozikowski
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 26300
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:57 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: How record with 2 mics?

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Sun Oct 30, 2011 10:54 pm

kozikowski wrote:There may be something on the Linux side that will do this.

On Linux you can use Jack audio system with one mic as the main device, then add other mics as "alsa_in clients" http://jackaudio.org/multiple_devices

On Windows you could use two conventional microphones (not the internal mic and not USB mics) if you have a 2 channel USB microphone pre-amp.
For more than 2 channels you will either need a specialist multi-channel sound card or a mixer.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Senior Forum Staff
 
Posts: 34850
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am

Re: How record with 2 mics?

Permanent link to this post Posted by JaxAudio » Wed Dec 14, 2011 1:25 am

I just purchased a nice Behring 802 mixer. To be used in conjunction with my PC mic input. (
That is 2 sound devices to 1 PC mic input. )

Unfortunately I have only basic PC mics. I understand why they do not work.
My question is - This Mixer has a phantom power (up to 48?) option I can turn on. ( I understand these mics need 5 volts to work)
Can I get an XLR, converter to 3.5 mm and then I can use my PC mic?

Short of me soldering and wiring a battery pack contraption (which will not happen) to use this, is my only other option to purchase a microphone?
This is for online chatting, and using a second input audio source to go through my 'mic in' (on computer).

I appreciate all help on this.
JaxAudio
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:53 am

Re: How record with 2 mics?

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Wed Dec 14, 2011 4:39 pm

I've never come across a "XLR 48v phantom to 3.5 mm jack 5 v phantom" adaptor. Is that your question?
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Senior Forum Staff
 
Posts: 34850
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am

Re: How record with 2 mics?

Permanent link to this post Posted by JaxAudio » Wed Dec 14, 2011 5:37 pm

This mixer http://www.amazon.com/Behringer-802-Pre ... B000J5XS3C
has a phantom power button.

I have PC mics that need power to work through this mixer. Is there any way I can utilize the phantom power as a source for the PC mic?

OR A completely different question - I have a Gamecom 777 headset, works great for PC, but I want it to be used in conjunction with the mixer. What options do i have as far as making this work? Getting a PC headset mic to work through the mixer?
JaxAudio
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:53 am

Re: How record with 2 mics?

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Wed Dec 14, 2011 6:03 pm

JaxAudio wrote:This mixer ...

Yes the phantom power on that mixer is (nominal) 48 v.
No you can't use that to power a PC microphone without some sort of modification - I've never seen a suitable adaptor/converter for doing that. It probably would not be too hard to make one, though it's more common to just make a battery box.

JaxAudio wrote: I have a Gamecom 777 headset, works great for PC, but I want it to be used in conjunction with the mixer. What options do i have as far as making this work? Getting a PC headset mic to work through the mixer?

Building a battery box for it is probably the best option.
(I know you said that is "not going to happen", but short of buying a new microphone, that is probably your best option).
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Senior Forum Staff
 
Posts: 34850
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am

Re: How record with 2 mics?

Permanent link to this post Posted by JaxAudio » Wed Dec 14, 2011 7:00 pm

And this battery box, isn't a common-enough task to have been put up for mass production? Its not available through radioshack? Okay, well thank you for all of your input..

I just need to find a what $70 battery desk mic? any suggestion on that one?
JaxAudio
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:53 am

Re: How record with 2 mics?

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Wed Dec 14, 2011 7:50 pm

I don't know anyone that manufactures them commercially, but they are very simple to make - there are only 3 components including the battery.
Instructions for how to make them are readily found on web-sites - here's one: http://www.epanorama.net/circuits/micro ... ering.html
When using a battery box to power the microphone you would have the mixer phantom power switched OFF.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Senior Forum Staff
 
Posts: 34850
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am

Next

Return to Recording Equipment



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests