Record without Microphone???

Hey, I’m new to all of this. Have been trying to record some music with Audacity but I don’t have a microphone. I heard you could use the “line-in” or you can use speakers to record or something. I tried putting my earphones into the line in part of my laptop, but no matter how much noise i make into them no sound comes up in Audacity.

Can anyone help!??
:slight_smile:

Your Trying To Make Noise Through Your Headphones?

Well, yes. Assuming your computer has a Mic-In (not just a Line-In) and assuming you have a speaker that has no amplifier inside, you can yell into the speaker and have it appear in Audacity.

A simple speaker …

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Jensen-C8R-25W-8-Replacement-Speaker?sku=665001&src=3WBZ4DS&ZYXSEM=0

and a dynamic type microphone (Shure SM-58) are really close cousins. It’s not very efficient, though, and the system will never get very loud which will making performing a bit of a problem. Most speakers sound very muffled compared to a regular microphone because they’re too big and heavy. Your voice vibrations have to move all that cardboard and copper wire.

Radio Shack used to make a 16-ohm speaker. It was a version of this one…

http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2062406&cp=&sr=1&origkw=8+ohm+speaker&kw=8+ohm+speaker&parentPage=search

…and that didn’t make a half-bad microphone. Of course in all these cases, you needed to be good with tools to wire it all up.

Koz

o cool thanks for your help. I just managed to find a pair of headphones in my cupboard with a mouth-piece microphone thing… And i tried Audacity again but no sound comes up… is it something to do with the soundcard that might be crappy in my laptop?
thanks again :slight_smile:

Headsets with microphones frequently come with two 1/8" plugs, one with an earphone symbol and the other with a microphone symbol. The laptop–assuming it’s a Windows machine–should have two sockets labeled the same way.