Need advise ...best microphone?

Hi Guys, I’ve just found this awesome forum, woooo so much expertise. I’m a newbie on a steep learning curve, loving it. Have made my first CD, had great fun with it all, music tracks great, but not happy with the quality of the spoken voice track. I’m using a Logitec Premium Stereo headset which uses 2 jacks, one pink and one green and yes I’m putting them into the right places, rather than a USB cable. The other problem I’m having is that I can’t hear my voice though the headphones while I’m recording, though I can during playback.

Can one of you wise ones give me some suggestions as to what sort of mic I should be using to get nice, warm tones for spoken voice? Thanks

whoah, big topic here.

You can ask 100 recording engineers what equipment to use to get the best sound and you’ll get about 95 different answers.

First off, ditch the headset. It’s a terrible way to record a quality voice signal. The mic is way too close to the mouth, or it’s off-axis, and the mic is also of low quality in many cases.

If you’re still with me, then you should know that it’s going to take some money. First I’ll describe my personal setup and then I’ll try to give you some other directions to go in.

My personal mic setup:
A mic stand (I use a boom stand, ~$20).
A Shockmount for the mic (mine’s a universal one that fits my mic, ~$20)
A pop-filter (make one out of panty hose for free, mine is just a pair of tights stretched over a bent up metal clothes hanger)
An AKG C1000s mic (~$150 on ebay)
A mic cable with XLR plugs (~$10)
An ART Tube pre-amp (~$40)
Another short mic cable with XLR plugs (~$10)
An M-Audio Delta 1010LT soundcard (~$200 on ebay)
A decent set of over-the-ear headphones (~$40) (do not use speakers to monitor your recordings, you will be sorry)