Guitar amp simulators for Audacity?

We all have our ideas regarding recording! Share your experience.

If you require help using Audacity, or think you have found a "bug", please post on the forum board relevant to your operating system.
Windows
Mac OS X
GNU/Linux and Unix-like

Guitar amp simulators for Audacity?

Permanent link to this post Posted by MattDLR » Sat Jan 31, 2009 9:44 pm

Hello,

I'm looking to record my guitar directly into Audacity, but I don't know how to use an amp simulator with it. I also don't know what to get that would be compatible with Audacity.

Any suggestions?
MattDLR
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 3:50 am

Re: Guitar amp simulators for Audacity?

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Fri Feb 06, 2009 10:29 pm

A much better solution, get an amplifier and a microphone.
Failing that, get a hardware amp simulator with an audio out that you can plug into your sound card (Line6 Pod's are very good).
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Senior Forum Staff
 
Posts: 32993
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am

Re: Guitar amp simulators for Audacity?

Permanent link to this post Posted by MattDLR » Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:30 pm

stevethefiddle wrote:A much better solution, get an amplifier and a microphone.


Yeah I already do that but it's hard to record when you have roommate's blasting music constantly (because the mic would pick up that noise in addition to the guitar). I was hoping for a quieter solution, without spending money on hardware. There's a few freeware amp simulator VSTs, I just don't know how I'd use any with Audacity.
MattDLR
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 3:50 am

Re: Guitar amp simulators for Audacity?

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Sat Feb 07, 2009 2:40 am

MattDLR wrote:There's a few freeware amp simulator VSTs, I just don't know how I'd use any with Audacity.

Audacity is not very good with VST's. It only supports some, and some make Audacity crash. Because of licensing restrictions, Audacity can not be distributed with VST support, so VST support is achieved through another little program called the VST Bridge. Also, the graphical interface for the plug-ins are not supported for the same reason, so Audacity uses a very basic GUI that looks similar to the interfaces for its built in effects and is just a bunch of sliders. Without the (often complex) VST graphical interface, these programs become near impossible to use. To use VST effects I think that you would be better to record using a proper VST host. On Windows you could try Waveosaur or Reaper.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Senior Forum Staff
 
Posts: 32993
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am

Re: Guitar amp simulators for Audacity?

Permanent link to this post Posted by Pobinr » Mon Feb 09, 2009 9:43 pm

I record with Audacity because it's so much more intuitive & simple compared to most software. Then if I want to add effects after I import the track into Cubase then add effects using the VST.
Having said that why do you want to add the effects afterwards ?
Why not get a Line 6 toneport which has amp simulators & create the sound you want with that then record your playing through that with Audacity.
Pobinr
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 9:57 pm


Return to Recording Techniques



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 5 guests