Adding "timbre" to (almost) pure modulated sin tones

Hello everybody, I am new to audacity. I want to produce songs using it. I do not like DAWs because they sound “digital”.
My problem is I invented some songs requiring many kind of different instruments, but I can only play the guitar.
E.g. in one sound I need the trumpet (I tried MIDI, it sounds really bad and it’s very time-consuming to write). What I did is this: I recorded myself whistling the melody I wanted the trumpet to play. Then I lowered down the pitch by 2 octaves. It sounds good! But my whistle is almost a pure tone, although it is modulated in frequency and amplitude (these modulations are what I would find time-expensive to reproduce in MIDI).

What I would like to do is process my transposed whistle and for each wave I would like to add some frequencies to make it more similar to a trumpet (trumpet is just an example here, the same process should work for any instruments). It should be a bit like adding to each period of my whistle one one or more sin functions with greater frequencies but lesser amplitude, but in phase with it (because of frequency modulation I would like to do it period by period).

So what I would like to do is to change and almost purely sin tone to imitate the envelope of real musical instruments, by retaining the same main frequency and amplitude. This is basically the idea. I am open to suggestion and criticism on how to put it into practice. ASAIK there is no audacity plugin to do this, so I would need to develop it. Unfortunately I am very new to signal processing, although I know Lisp and programming in general.

I don’t guarantee that this will produce the musical timbre that you want, but this is a bit of information concerning adding harmonics to sine waves: