Time Markers to assist computations

Hello. I’ve been using Audacity for a few years. It’s a great program.

I do a lot of audio editing to combine FM Radio broadcast of sporting events with the TV broadcast. I record both then bring the audio into Audacity. The goal is to adjust the FM audio to match the TV audio which acts as a reference. When complete I export the corrected FM audio and add this as an extra audio track to the original video.

To do this in Audacity I use mainly these functions:

(1) “Cut” to remove a section of audio to move it forward.
(2) “Generate Silence” to pad the audio in places to shift the audio back.
(3) “Change Tempo” because in some instances the FM audio has been time compressed or expanded because of editing in the studio, e.g. coming out of a commercial break too late they compress the live broadcast to catch back up to real time.

In all three cases I note a beginning and an ending time location of interest. Note the place that gets acted on in (1) and (2) above are in a different time location (typically during a commercial break where I don’t care) so I need to know the delta time which I unfortunately need to use a calculator to do. Also it’s not possible for me to simple select the region of time because I need to move and playback clips to confirm before editing. So there is a lot of writing down the times, doing the math manually, then typing the results back into Audacity. This is all very inefficient. So here’s what I propose or would like to have:

(1) Add the ability to create a time marks. Wherever the selection start is, I’d like to press a button to save that as a time mark. The time mark would stay there until I overwrite it. I would need a few time marks. Perhaps we could have time marks 0 through 9 although I don’t know that I need that many. TM0, TM1, TM2, etc.