Load all time

Anything you think is missing, or needs enhancement, goes here.

If you require help using Audacity, please post on the forum board relevant to your operating system:
Windows
Mac OS X
GNU/Linux and Unix-like

Load all time

Permanent link to this post Posted by Piotr Grochowski » Tue Aug 08, 2017 5:28 am

"Reassignment" spectrograms take massive amount of time. While zooming in frequency is easy, zooming in time is hassle. Which is bad, since playing naturally scrolls the sound when it reaches right. So all time should be loaded. It happens very often, that I fit in window with Waveform, then change to spectrogram, use Reassignment and because frequency labels make it occupy more space, it's end of the world when the song reaches end.
Piotr Grochowski
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 12:45 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Load all time

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Tue Aug 08, 2017 8:23 am

An important design feature of Audacity is that the visual representation of the track audio represents the current state of the audio. This is distinctly different from most "real-time DAW" programs that usually do not update the waveform. In Audacity, the waveform is updated "in real-time" (subject to the speed of the computer), so that "what you see is what you get".

Spectrogram reassignment is off by default, because reassignment is computationally heavy and too slow for real-time updating.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Site Admin
 
Posts: 45022
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Load all time

Permanent link to this post Posted by Piotr Grochowski » Wed Aug 09, 2017 7:08 am

But if I want to view in high quality, I'm screwed if I want to change zoom or scroll. I can't do anything at all until spectrogram is loaded.

Audacity does NOT play the spectrogram, otherwise it would sound as if it was Paulstretched with time factor of 1 and time resolution of 1÷(sample rate÷window size) (for default settings, 0.0058). So why would what I see is what I get with spectrogram?

I didn't know that audacity actually loads lower latency when more zoomed in. Thanks.
Piotr Grochowski
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 12:45 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Load all time

Permanent link to this post Posted by Piotr Grochowski » Tue Sep 12, 2017 6:32 pm

Bump - When you switch to spectrogram and change to Reassignment, but Audacity temporarily crashes when the song ends...
Piotr Grochowski
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 12:45 pm
Operating System: Windows 10


Return to Adding Features to Audacity



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest