First-In-First-Out' (FIFO), fix length recording

As an amateur radio operator, I and several others I know in the fraternity, like to record our “on-air” communications for review.

I am currently making use of your audio editor software, truly a terrific program. The only additional feature I would suggest is a recording loop capability, i.e, a data file of specified time frame and sample rate that continually overwrites itself. Think of it as ‘First-In-First-Out’ (FIFO).

In example, if one chooses a recording duration of 1 hour… after the first hour and a half the created data file (be it .au, .WAV, etc.) would consist of the last half of the previous hour plus the first half of the following hour.

Please let me know if this feature already exist and I overlooked it, or there are work arounds to achieve the same effect.

Thank you.

That would be the “surveillance mode” that Audacity doesn’t have. It won’t on-the-fly time stamp, either.

You would think there’s no down side to those features, but you haven’t had to deal with people trying to use Audacity for legal actions and law enforcement.

Koz

No, this feature is not available in Audacity, so I’ve moved this topic to the “adding features” board.

Please note that Audacity does not record as a normal audio file. Audacity works with “projects” that comprise of a “project file” (.AUP file extension) plus lots of small audio data files (.AU file extension). To create a normal audio file from an Audacity project, you must “export” the audio to an audio file.